Weight Loss Blog No. 1

June 2.  I started the diet again yesterday.  Ya GOTTA love the scale that second morning: Woah! I’ve already lost FIVE pounds!  Man, this is gonna be CAKE!  …Mmm.  Cake.

Reader’s Digest joke:  My friend announced that she had started a diet to lose some pounds. //  “Good!” I exclaimed. “I’m ready to start a diet too. We can be dieting buddies and help each other out. When I feel the urge to drive out and get a burger and fries, I’ll call you first.” // “Great!” she replied. “I’ll ride with you.”

Let’s see:  Daughter’s wedding in 5 months.  Photographer might charge extra for using the wide-angle lens.  I’d better stay away from the cake.

Actually, eating less is part of my new financial austerity plan.  Time for another joke:  There are two sides to my balance sheet: the left side and the right side. On the left side, there is nothing right, and on the right side, there is nothing left!

I confess, I’m at a place of repentance of sloppiness in a few areas: weight, finances, relationships. Day of reckoning.  Fork in the road.  Turn the tide. Clean slate. Because God has given me faith that Jesus is the Savior (1J5:1), I know He’ll help: “He who has begun a good work in you will complete it until the day of Jesus Christ.” (Php. 1:6)

“My help comes from the LORD, Who made heaven and earth.” (Ps. 121:2)   So…. “I press on, that I may lay hold of that for which Christ Jesus has also laid hold of me.”  (Php. 3:14)

Day 2, I welcome you!

This entry was posted in Weight Loss and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Weight Loss Blog No. 1

  1. Nicole says:

    Hi Elsiephoebe,

    I enjoyed your blog and feel like you have a positive approach to weight loss. It’s nice knowing there’s women out there like me 😉

    That is very exciting that your daughter is getting married!! My daughter just got married last year to a wonderful man– he’s now a project manager at his job and she’s a high school math teacher. I’m very proud of the life they’re creating for themselves!

    Have you been waiting a long time for your daughter to get married? Oh- I just love talking about children!

    I wish you all the best fellow mama. We can do this weight loss together! Thank you for being so inspirational!

    • elsiephoebe says:

      I’m brand new to blogging, so it was pretty exciting getting a “comment!”

      To answer your question, No, we have not been “waiting a long time for her to get married.” We’re a homeschool family, so it’s been an adjustment for me, thinking about my girl not being in our home every day. Thankfully, her fellah “likes us” (hehe), so I am trusting we will still see them often. 😀

      P.S. Congratulations on your daughter’s marriage!

      • Nicole Davis says:

        Oh yes, the blogging world is so great!

        Wow- well it sounds like life is a whirlwind at your house since your daughter is getting married so quickly!!

        From what you said it sounds like your daughter is making a good choice though. They obviously aren’t planning to live with you after they get married so that is a VERY good sign! Obviously, your future son-in-law is able to provide for them so that is excellent. 🙂

        I hear ya though, it will be hard not having your daughter at home all of the time (I can imagine that must be difficult since you’ve homeschooled her)… but the visits will be wonderful I can assure you!

  2. Sapphira says:

    I was browsing WordPress, & your blog stood out to me. I have never seen someone quote the Bible in regards to weight loss! Good luck on your “sloppiness” goals!

    – A Fellow Lover of Cake

  3. elsiephoebe says:

    Yeah. It’s good to go to the Instruction Manual from the Manufacturer!

Leave a Reply

