Emotional Paradox

June 5.  Life is full of juxtaposed paradoxes.  When I pick up my daughter from work, she fills me in on her day.  Usually she’s Bubbly!  Something like, “Today was awesome.  They had Bee-Bee-Q!”  Bubbly.  But tonight was different.  She starts by saying, “I had a Really. Bad. Day.”  I empathized and asked what happened…

“A co-worker died today.”    Wow.  How do you even respond to that. I offered my condolences.  “And, another coworker’s 3-year-old grandson choked to death.”  …  “And another coworker got fired. [details] Now she and her husband are both unemployed and they have three kids under 10 years old.”

We had a somber dinner hour, and we resumed our own lives:  the rest of us telling her about our nature walks and bike rides on this rare day of sunshine, wedding lists, honeymoon reservations…  But it wasn’t Bubbly.

3 The pains of death surrounded me,
And the pangs of Sheol laid hold of me;
I found trouble and sorrow.
4 Then I called upon the name of the LORD:
“O LORD, I implore You, deliver my soul!”

5 Gracious is the LORD, and righteous;
Yes, our God is merciful.
6 The LORD preserves the simple;
I was brought low, and He saved me.
7 Return to your rest, O my soul,
For the LORD has dealt bountifully with you.

Ps. 116:3-7

This entry was posted in Wedding Plans and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Emotional Paradox

  1. Sapphira says:

    that’s so sad :o(

  2. Sapphira says:

    that face didn’t come out right . . .

    it should have been : o (

  3. elsiephoebe says:

    Yeah. She’s still kinda talkin’ in slo-mo. I remember this paradigm a few different times: joy and sorrow mixed. ‘Keeps us focused, I think.

  4. Nicole Davis says:

    Wow what a bizarre day! All at one work place? Wow. Very sad and heart wrenching for sure. Keep giving your daughter hugs mama!

Leave a Reply

