Self-confrontation 101

June 6.     My husband was out of town this weekend.  I love him dearly and miss him.  (We just celebrated our 27th Wedding Anniversary, thank-you-very-much.)

But, yeah,   No Cooking!  No Dishes!  No Snoring! All the Covers!  Chick Flick! MY music!  ‘Didn’t Even Wash my Hair!  Oh: and all the Girlfriend Blah-Blah I Could Handle!  CHYAW!

I spent a lot of time with my friend this last few days.  And I discovered something interesting: We skipped the small talk.  ‘Got down to brass tacks; the nitty-gritty; heart of the matter.  More depth, candor, and trust.  I am truly blessed to have such a friend.

But I also made another discovery: by shear time spent in the fishbowl, I’m more keenly aware of my failures and compromises.

In the quiet of the evening now, I find my hypocrisy slapping me upside the face.  Such audacity!  Oh, Lord.  Forgive me.

But if we walk in the light as He is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus Christ His Son cleanses us from all sin.  /  If we say that we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us.  If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. If we say that we have not sinned, we make Him a liar, and His word is not in us.   — 1 John 1:7b-10

This entry was posted in Self-confrontation and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Self-confrontation 101

  1. Yer husband says:

    Hi Hon.
    I like your blog. You are a talented writer.
    Each on was very interesting.
    I’m blessed to have a wife like you.

Leave a Reply

