Borderline Personality Disorder

Some headlines are just stranger than fiction.  This one is messed up; it doesn’t know if it’s reality OR fiction!

It seems a French psychiatrist (Eric Bui) has a question that’s getting published.  Hold on to your hat, here’s the question:  “Is Anakin Skywalker suffering from borderline personality disorder?”

You’ve GOT to be kidding.

More from the French guy:  “Skywalker exhibited six out of the nine BPD criteria…. The minimum for a diagnosis is five.” The French team says it’s because he was separated from his parents at an early age.  HELLO?  VADER IS A STORYBOOK CHARACTER!

“I believe that psychotherapy would have helped Anakin and might have prevented him from turning to the dark side.” …AND THIS GUY’S GETTING PUBLISHED?

You know what?  If a movie villain written by a scruffy, bearded guy can have BPD, maybe I should see if I have it!  So I looked it up.  I’m nervous studying this, ‘cause if I meet 5 of the 9, that means I will need Two Robots, a Geek, a Hunk, and a Twit to rescue me from the dark side!

Borderline Personality Disorder Anakin Skywalker / Darth Vader Elsie / Phoebe
Impulsiveness “I am more powerful than the Chancellor…” My car turns by itself at garage sale signs.
Violent outbursts “I HAVE YOU NOW!” n/a – Learned this can lead to reciprocation.
Anger management issues “Commander, tear this ship apart until you find those plans!” “Why am I the ONLY person who re-fills the TOILET PAPER!!”
Illusions of invincibility He does that paralyzing thing with his fingers. n/a – Everybody Pwns me.
Identity crisis “Luke.  I am your father.” (Don’t we all??)
Manipulative patterns. “Don’t underestimate the force.” As a mother, I believe I have perfected this.
Uncontrolled emotions. n/a – Complete control. I’m perimenopausal!
Mood swings. n/a – Always ticked. I’m perimenopausal!
Self-destructive acts n/a – Destroys others. I’m a fatty.
Feelings of boredom “I find your lack of faith disturbing.” That’s why I’m a fatty.
Chaotic relationships You snooze, you lose! You should see this place at the Holidays.  jk
Avoids abandonment “I won’t lose you the way I lost my mother.” n/a – I have YOU. hehe
Separated from others He doesn’t even breathe the same air as everybody else. n/a – People can’t get rid of ME!
Bright, witty, funny n/a – Not particularly bright, even. Hey: 2 outta 3 ain’t bad!
TOTALS Total of TEN Total of TEN
IT’S A TIE.   MOO-ha-ha-ha….
This entry was posted in Self-confrontation, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Borderline Personality Disorder

  1. Lily says:

    Hey! I refill the toilet paper too!! 😛

    Oh, and hey — Anakin Skywalker has no control of emotions… at least in episodes 1-3.

    (Uncontrolled emotions. n/a – Complete control.)

    I like your blog, Mom.

Leave a Reply

