Droopy Dumb Diet Dilemma

Okay, so my first week was gangbusters.  Second week, no loss, no gain.  So far this week, FAIL!

I’ve been running this diet like I do my finances: I know the Steps to Success, but they’re meant to work in concert; if I only implement “most”, I’m not going to get the desired result.  Looking at my Weight Loss Plan (see “Diet Day 4”), I need to get back up to standard on sweets, carbs, and walking.

Interestingly, weight loss and financial goals have very similar steps!

Observe God’s Principles

Have a Written Plan

Be Careful what You Buy

Don’t Borrow from Tomorrow

Avoid Leverage (Don’t be Controlled)

Use Self-control

Watch the Extras

Benefit from Counsel

KISS – Keep It Simple, Stupid!

Get Some Accountability

Practice Saving

Have non-consume times.

Give God a Portion

Check Progress Periodically

Be Diligent

Tighten the Belt

Put Others First

Practice Patience

Be Flexible

Focus on Long-term Goals

With my finances, and my weight, it makes me cranky that it’s going to be a long haul; I’m impatient.  I already know what your response will be:  You didn’t get yourself into this situation overnight, how can you expect to get out of it overnight? Humbug.

But seriously, I know what needs doing; I need to …Just Do It.

For if anyone is a hearer of the word and not a doer, he is like a man observing his natural face in a mirror; for he observes himself, goes away, and immediately forgets what kind of man he was.  James 1:23-24

… be diligent to be found by Him in peace, without spot and blameless 2 Peter 3:14

This entry was posted in Finances, Weight Loss and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Droopy Dumb Diet Dilemma

  1. lumpy lori says:

    been there, and trying to do it too
    don’t give up, dear friend
    I fear, for myself, it will be a life-long process of pure discipline, without any wavering – ugh!!!

Leave a Reply

