Working Woman’s Worries

She makes linen garments and sells them, And supplies sashes for the merchants.  … She watches over the ways of her household, And does not eat the bread of idleness.  Prov. 31:24 & 27

I’ve been putting in a lot of hours lately.  I work freelance (another word for Can Be Fired Without Notice). Actually, I often feel as if just one lackadaisical morning might put me in the poorhouse.

But here’s the apple: the official definition for freelance is “An uncommitted independent; a person who sells services to employers without a long-term commitment to any of them.”  I like it! That’s a nice change from the rest of my life, which is all about commitments.  (Don’t get me wrong, I love them all.)  I’m married 27 years; we have two daughters ages 19 and 17 (both homeschooled); my mother gets to live in an apartment on our house for life (she gave us the house); my mother-in-law also gets to live with us for life (I’m her caregiver).

In-between all these commitments, I do editing and transcription.  Whenever work comes in, my computer notifies me by a Cartoon Hamburger-Eating Hamster, complete with Maniacal Laugh:  “HA-ha-ha-ha!”  That notifier used to really give me the Jim-Jams.  But since we’ve been in the Great Recession, it sounds more like dollar signs.

Being rather Old School (see yesterday’s blog), I’m amazed at the technology; it’s all digital.  I only see the local dudes at Christmas when I deliver cookies, and I don’t even know what the out-of-towners look like!  (Maybe it’s better that way.)

LATER….  I realize I did not write a summation sentence for this blog.
How about this?

Yeah, I am a lady who types:
It KEEPS from wearing jail-stripes.
It MAKES me feel ill,
But it HELPS pay the bills;
‘Cause I’m QUEEN of the debit-card swipe!

This entry was posted in Homemaking, Technology and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

