Not Everyone’s Cup of Tea

I’ve said often, “I’m not everybody’s cup of tea.”  When I say that, I do not mean, “This is how I am; if people don’t like it, who needs ‘em?”  What I do mean is, for each person that avoids me to some extent, there’s some specific aspect of my behavior (or lack thereof) that causes them to seek their company elsewhere.  I used to obsess about this (some might think I am right now), but seriously—I have come to understand:  I’m not everybody’s cup of tea.

Some would prefer me more worldly, some more heavenly-minded.  Some would count me a source of accountability, some would rather I keep my opinions to myself.  To some, I’m too quiet, while others think I’m loud; some think me wise, others deem me foolish.  Too conservative. Too liberal.  To short.  Too fat.  Too left-handed. (Yeah, I’m left-handed.  ‘You got a problem with that?)

Sometimes obsessions can be helpful, ya know?  Over the years, evaluating these scenarios has yielded some self-improvement.  On the flipside, however, I also think it’s helped me consider whether this person’s issue is anything I even need to concern myself over.  {Ooh, I’m probably going to get some hate-mail on that one.}

Of course, I want peace with people; and I certainly enjoy life more if I have people in it!  But let’s face it: you can’t please all the people all the time:  Some want me to act like when I was young—sinful and foolish; HELLO!  I try to avoid that!  Some folks want me to fit into their box. But, trust me: there are very few boxes I fit into.  (That, Ladies and Gentlemen, is what you call a double entendre.)

Here’s the bottom line.  I have three choices with people who prefer that I leave them alone:  (a) Leave them alone! (the most tempting); (b) See if you can hear their beef (the most self-effacing); or (c) Be pro active in changing behavior to gain their time, interest, or trust (the most productive).

All told, if I can honestly say I’m doing what I can to love my neighbor,  it is sometimes okay to recognize I’m not everybody’s cup of tea.  …I’m a coffee drinker anyway.

This entry was posted in AAA Laura's Favorites :), Keeping up Appearances, Relationships, Self-confrontation and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Not Everyone’s Cup of Tea

  1. Sapphira says:

    I totally understand! What inspired this entry?

  2. marian says:

    Who are they? I think together we can take ’em!

  3. Lily says:

    I love you, Mommy! And I enjoy being around you. 😀

  4. Tamz says:

    You are definitely my cup of …. coffee!

  5. Mish says:

    Love all around… 🙂

  6. Mish says:

    Well, so are you!!

Leave a Reply

