A Work in Progress

In William Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing, a main character, Benedick, is a confirmed bachelor.  He describes the woman that could finally pin him down: she’d have to be fair, wise, virtuous, rich, mild, noble, a good conversationalist, and an excellent musician. (But he doesn’t care about the color of her hair.)  In today’s language, he wants a woman who’s good-looking, rich, not loud, fairly classy, not an airhead, can play music, and doesn’t have a past.

This is the spot where some writers might launch into a tirade about the audacity of men, wanting women to be all these things when they themselves are odd-looking, impoverished, vulgar, promiscuous losers. But I’m not one of those bloggers!  (hehe)

Or they might start a discourse of how somebody did or did not meet these criteria way back in the day when the nuptials took place.  Frankly, I don’t find that productive.  That’s easy to say by somebody whose husband’s criteria stopped at fair: seriously: he married me because I was pretty.  I just learned that a few years ago, and it messed with my head a bit—but that’s a whole different topic…

What is relevant is looking at what kind of wife I am now—and the wife I am becoming.  Hubby’s more complex these days, maybe more like Benedick: he’d like me to be more than just pretty; he wants a wife that is wise, virtuous, mild, noble, and a good conversationalist. Well, by God’s grace I’m growing wise and virtuous. I don’t think you could call me mild, though; and I don’t think I even know what noble is. As for being a good conversationalist, well, that’s a muse that comes and goes.  I’m not a musician, but we both love music—does that count?  As for being rich, well, it’s a good thing I’m pretty.

In comparing myself to God’s description of a virtuous wife (Prov. 31), it’s still humbling: good (not always), diligent (mostly), astute (needs improvement), strong (not too shabby), wise (in God’s Word), creative (not particularly), generous (when God thumps me), protective (very!), and pleasing (another weak area). I’m a work in progress.  …But at least I’m pretty.

This entry was posted in Life With Hubby, Relationships and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Work in Progress

  1. marian says:

    “I feel pretty
    Oh so pretty
    I feel pretty and witty and bright,
    And I pitty any girl who isn’t me tonight.

    I feel charming
    Oh so charming
    It’s alarming how charming I feel
    And so pretty that I hardly can believe I’m real.

    See the pretty girl in that mirror there
    Who can that attractive girl be?
    Such a pretty face
    Such a pretty dress
    Such a pretty smile
    Such a pretty me!

    I feel stunning
    And entrancing
    Feel like running and dancing for joy
    For I’m loved by a pretty wonderful boy!” 😀

  2. Lily says:

    I’m surprised I actually enjoyed that Shakespeare movie.

    “creative (not particularly)”
    You are creative! That’s why we all read your blog!

Leave a Reply

