Ignorance is Not Bliss

I know stuff.  Thankfully, I actually know quite a lot of stuff.  But yeah, there’s a lot more I don’t know.  A few simple facts prove it: there are nearly 7billion people living on this planet. Do I know what even one of those brains is thinking?  NO!  There are millions of species of animals; can I identify even a small percentage of them? NO!  I can’t explain Korea, paleontology, or the National Debt.  I’m an ignorant slob!

Today’s events in my life were specific, keen reminders of my ignorance.  I think I have a handle on some of it, but it’s tough; I feel really stupid.  Conversely, I have been blessed with enough understanding of the situation to at least take a logical step or two (hopefully in the right direction).

It’s weird being in the waiting room: waiting for additional info, subsequent events, or just time to think. I’m so tempted to revert to my typical busy mode, occupying my gray matter with practical things and forgetting the whole thing, darn it!

But here I am, late at night, with a bazillion ideas spinning around, trying to make sense of it all.  And it’s deep stuff that I cannot ignore.  Due to complexities, neither can I do anything about it right now—because there’s so much I don’t know.

Ouch.  It hurts.

 

Ps. 27:14   Wait on the LORD; Be of good courage, And He shall strengthen your heart; Wait, I say, on the LORD!

“Waiting” by Emily Dickinson
 
I sing to use the waiting,
My bonnet but to tie,
And shut the door unto my house;
No more to do have I,
 
Till, his best step approaching,
We journey to the day,
And tell each other how we sang
To keep the dark away.
This entry was posted in Relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ignorance is Not Bliss

  1. just me says:

    I was reading this morning and this Psalm was a great encouragement and wonderful reminder that the Lord of heaven and earth takes care of His own! 🙂 Love ya, sis..

    Psalm 4
    1 To the Chief Musician. With Stringed Instruments. A Psalm of David. Hear me when I call, O God of my righteousness! You have relieved me in my distress; Have mercy on me, and hear my prayer.
    2 How long, O you sons of men, Will you turn my glory to shame? How long will you love worthlessness And seek falsehood? Selah
    3 But know that the LORD has set apart for Himself him who is godly; The LORD will hear when I call to Him.
    4 Be angry, and do not sin. Meditate within your heart on your bed, and be still. Selah
    5 Offer the sacrifices of righteousness, And put your trust in the LORD.
    6 There are many who say, “Who will show us any good?” LORD, lift up the light of Your countenance upon us.
    7 You have put gladness in my heart, More than in the season that their grain and wine increased.
    8 I will both lie down in peace, and sleep; For You alone, O LORD, make me dwell in safety.

Leave a Reply

