One for the Books

On our country drive last night, I never thought today I’d awaken to loud groans and convulsions, followed by flashing red lights and a living room full of EMTs. As they strapped Hubby to the gurney, he asked me to stay home and wait for his call.  I made my way to the gurney and we shared a long, still kiss.  While that kiss lasted, I laid hands on his forehead; it was then that I began to feel the rise and fall of his chest; he had begun to sob.

As they wheeled him down the driveway, Daughter 2 waved from a distance: “Bye, Daddy! I love you!”

I informed his little mother (not fun).  I had D2 go tell my mother. (She later told me my girl had fought back the tears.)  We also woke up D1 and emailed the rest of the church family.

I hurried and got a shower, did my chores, typing, and started dinner (I have relatives visiting).  I was encouraged by emails and calls, and by observing the clear trust in God shared by my daughters and several others milling around here today.

Finally I got the call: “Honey, can you come get me?”  I hit the highway.  My MP3 player, which is just as likely to play Keane, Muse, and the Beatles, today was playing this: “Master, the tempest is raging! …The winds and the waves shall obey Thy will, Peace, be still!”  -and- “Now Lord Don’t Move My Mountain, But Give Me The Strength To Climb”.

I don’t know who suffered more in that pharmacy waiting room: Hubby, who could barely sit up, or me. Sorry to lose focus here, but seriously: how can people stand soap operas? “If this baby’s yours, I’m going to lose Daniel anyway, and your marriage is over.” And what’s with the mahogany and marble office convo between a white-haired lawyer in a blue suit and a …shirtless tanned dude glistening wet?  But I digress.

They were filling an Rx for narcotic and anti-nausea drugs. When we entered the final waiting stage, I told Hubby, “It looks like your time is imminent.”  He replied, “Oh, I’m so, so aware of that.”

This entry was posted in Life With Hubby, Prayer Needs and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to One for the Books

  1. lumpy lori says:

    I read that to Don and we both sat on the bed and prayed for you all.
    Our hearts go out to Dave and at the same time, you.
    May God give you both the grace to hold up under this trial of health and uncertainty.
    We love you so much and want to share in your grief.
    Laugh with those who laugh, cry with those who cry. We’re crying!!!!

    me

  2. Ginger says:

    Auntie,

    I am so sorry to her about this. While my time is as busy as i is, I always have room for you. Please let us know if there is anything we can do.

    We love you all. Please give Uncle our best.

    Love,

    Ginger

  3. I’m beseeching our Father God right now — prayers for healing and health, prayers for comfort and peace, prayers for endurance and strength. ♥ to you and your dear hubby.

  4. Amy says:

    The Lord works in mysterious ways… Just yesterday morning it was on my heart to be praying for you and your hubby…
    May the Lord lift up His countenance upon you, and give you peace (Numbers 6:26)
    Continuing to pray! Thank you for the update.

    • elsiephoebe says:

      Wow–and Amen, He is above all. Thank you for heeding the leading and praying for the ailing. Today he was MUCH better. Still not out of the woods; it’s nice to know you are praying, Dear.

  5. Nicole says:

    So sorry to hear Mama Elsie. Hope that your husband gets better soon!

Leave a Reply

