You Are Here

Where are you? [You Are Here.]  Are you where you want to be? [The computer. Yeah!]   Where are you from? [Shh! This is a ‘G’-Rated blog!]   How old are you? [Young enough to learn but old enough to know better.]

In dog years, I’m over 300 years old.  Including in vitro, I’ve been alive almost 20,000 days.  That’s a half-million hours.  No other way to slice it, that’s a lot of days: Twenty Thousand!

It isn’t quite as ridiculous once I break it down:  2,000 days before kindergarten; 5,500 in school; 5,500 to a career; 7,000 to raising kids.

This breakdown thing could come in handy.  I have 20 goals, but if I focus on 4 every 1,000 days, I could ostensibly realize all of them before I go on Social Security (if it still exists by then).

Picking four to start with (i.e. focus on simultaneously) is a no-brainer, and I could break down my day, too, right? 8 hours’ sleep and 8 hours’ homemaking, etc. still leaves 2 hours for each goal. Taking weekends and other days off, I could make some headway if I keep focused.

Hey, the Japanese haven’t cornered the market on a five-year plan; even our own President has one or two of ‘em.

Hmm. If this formula sounds so good, why do I feel about as optimistic as an outfielder when Yours Truly is at bat? It’s because I am not yet focused.

Brethren, I do not count myself to have apprehended; but one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind and reaching forward to those things which are ahead, I press toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.  –Php. 3:13-14

This entry was posted in Oddities, Self-confrontation and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to You Are Here

  1. marian says:

    Thanks Sister, I needed that Scripture today!
    Love you!

Leave a Reply

