Every Cloud has a Silver Lining

Today the rains returned.  [Sigh!]

Everybody deals with clouds.  They can range from only slightly overcast, to depressing darkness.  Hubby’s been walking under one for four months.  Thankfully, the lightning bolts have ebbed to a thin blanket of gray, with some backlight.  How’s that for finding the silver lining?

That reminded me to look closer at a few clouds and see what’s hiding underneath:

Cloud 1.  I have a long, shallow dent in the door of my car (‘underestimated the size of a landscaping boulder).  The silver lining?  I’m no longer a target for carjacking!

Cloud 2.  Our family cannot move our residence for the lifetime of two dear, elderly ladies.  The silver lining?  Roots: here 18 years, but until then, Hubby and I had each moved at least every 5 years.

Cloud 3.  Momma always uses up the leftovers.  I get crumb-laden pats of butter, the crusty heels of bread, the itty-bitty pieces of soap.  The silver lining?  What’s not to like about crumb-laden butter?  On the bread, heels are smaller and crustier: less carbs!  And hey, using those itty-soap bits gives you one in each hand: you get clean twice as fast!

Cloud 4.  I didn’t manage to reduce my pant size this summer.  Silver lining?  I don’t think it would help.

Cloud 5.  We no longer have a couch in our living room.  Silver lining?  This year we can decorate two Christmas trees!

Cloud 6.  I never learned to parallel park, play the guitar, skateboard, or catch fish.  Silver lining?  I have plenty of time for Frisbee and yo-yo.

Cloud 7.  I can’t seem to stay within my budget. Silver lining?  I can, in good conscience, tell people I know how to juggle.

Cloud 8.  In a month I’ll observe my oldest daughter, riding away with her groom, waving as she goes, on her way to…

Cloud 9.  The silver lining?   …Hm.  I’ll have to get back to you on that one.

This entry was posted in Self-confrontation and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Every Cloud has a Silver Lining

  1. marian says:

    Cloud 9… the silver lining? One word… Grandchildren! They are the greatest!!!! ❤

  2. elsiephoebe says:

    OH, WHAT A GOOD ANSWER!!! Thanks 🙂

  3. Nicole says:

    Oooo I like what Marian has to say!! I can’t wait till I’m a Grandma 🙂

    Do you think your daughter and future-son-in-law will have kids soon? Do they talk about them??

    I am just sooooo excited for you Mama Dear!!

  4. Sapphira says:

    Oooo, that is VERY exciting! 🙂 How many kids are they planning on? How soon?

Leave a Reply

