Just So You Know…

Just so you know, within the last month, two different people have instructed me to discontinue using the phrase “just so you know.”

This includes all usages.  For instance, I am not to use this phrase to introduce a statement: “Just so you know, people can actually hear that sound coming out of you.”

I am also not to tag it on the end:  “You believe in a magic garbage-picker-upper angel.  We don’t have one.  Just so you know.”

And they told me they can see through my using it in a “hidden” correction:  [Somebody’s eating cookies.]  “Dinner will be ready in less than 5 minutes.  Just so you know.”

Modified forms are also discouraged: “I just want to let you know, some people find it hurtful when you walk by without a greeting..”  …OR… “One of those yogurts has 38 grams of sugar.  I thought you might want to know.”

Kicking this habit is going to be difficult; I’ll need a new buffering statement to preface hard truths:  “Attention K-Mart Shoppers, will whoever who thinks I’m the designated dishwasher please return to the kitchen?”  …OR… “Yoo-hoo, all you Yahoo’s, How ‘bout we bypass Full-Blast Metal when Dad’s due home?”

As long as I’m on this, if they aren’t going to let me say “just so you know,” how about I never again have to hear, “I’m just sayin’.”  This one’s like you can say anything you want, no matter how outlandish, and you won’t take any heat:  “Man, you’re like the P.M.S. Monster!   [Aghast response]   …I’m just sayin’.” …OR…  “Is your laundry still going, or are you gonna wear that?  [What’s wrong with it?]  Oh, nothin’.   I’m just sayin’.”

Sometimes people use this to express an opinion they can’t prove:  “I have a feeling there’s more to this than meets the eye.”  … [What IS your damage?]  …”I’m just sayin’.”

So there: turnabout’s fair play.  What’s good for the goose is good for the gander.   …I’m just sayin’.

This entry was posted in Relationships and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Just So You Know…

  1. Lily says:

    “How ‘bout we bypass Full-Blast Metal when Dad’s due home?” The key is to hit the stop button RIGHT when we hear him unlocking the door.

  2. Tamz says:

    Ahhhh, Laura, once again, … “just so you know,” you’re a clever writer!
    I’m just sayin’… publish.

  3. marian says:

    LOL… I agree with Tamz! 😀

  4. Tamz says:

    … Lily, just how’re ya gonna HEAR the key in the door, with metal full blast? heehee

  5. Just so you know, you’ve used that phrase long-distance on me. 😀
    Just thought you might want to know. LOL

  6. Nicole says:

    hehe Oh my Mama Dear you get me laughin!

    I think “Just so you know” is a great mother phrase. I’ve used it from time to time too! 😉

Leave a Reply

