The Wedding Day

On the morning of the wedding, when the father of the bride was apprised of the plan for Yours Truly to drive her to the beauty salon and then pick up the bouquet, he volunteered for those errands.  Of course, as the wedding coordinator and caterer, I was thankful—so off they went, while I continued packing things.  In short order, however, it hit me:  20 years ago, suddenly, a baby girl had been placed in my arms.  Now, today, suddenly, she had been swept away.

She was gone.

I lost it.

D2 comforted me.  (This morning I assured her God’s plan is marvelous.  When she, too, leaves, there will be more tears–but I will pull through.)

We continued working.  In examining bags before discard, I was thrilled to find something we’d misplaced:  her “something old.”  It was a handkerchief from her grandmother.  I decided to call the beauty salon.  When they relayed the message, I could hear her in the background:  “Oh, Sweet!”

It was like she hadn’t been swept away at all. Happiness!

I did not cry at this wedding.  It was a feeling of utter joy.  Hubby and I are so happy for our daughter and our new son-in-law.  Maybe I’m prejudiced, but I can’t say I’ve been to a wedding that was so Biblical, pure, and lovely.  Such a happy day!

I know it sounds trite, but …she looked like an angel.  So did her sister.  Beautiful.  And the groom looked great.  Actually, everybody did.

I had underestimated how much work there would be Friday and Saturday.  But I’m NOT kidding, 40 people came out of everywhere—and all of them worked very hard.  I was flabbergasted.  [Thanks so MUCH to everybody named below, alphabetical by first name.]

Well, today’s a new day.  When we got home from church, the silence was deafening.  But I did not cry.  D2 and I started sorting through the wreckage.

She’s moving on, so I guess I will too.  But I don’t think it’ll be long after the honeymoon before I hear from them.  We took their gifts to my house.   😉

P.S.  A giant Thank You to the Saints Who Came Marching In!

A – Bride’s big sis, Cake Lady, Hostess

B – BEAUTIFUL WEDDING

C – Guest Book Guy, Pastor, Corsage Girlie,  My Big Sis

D – Worship Leader, Father Of The Bride, Mom Of Flower Girl, Video Dude, Concierge, Deacon

E – The Bride

F –  FAMILY AND FRIENDS

G – Deacon, Niece

H – HELPING WHEREVER NEEDED

I –  I COULD ENJOY THE WEDDING

J – The Groom, Gift Guys, Canon Girl

K – Ring Bearer, Best Man, Bride’s Grandpa

L – Maid Of Honor, Bobbsey Twin, Coffee Queens, Sentry

M – Bride’s Bama, Decorator, Makeup Diva, Bridesmaid, Train Girl

O – OVERWHELMING GENEROSITY

P – Bobbsey twin, Guest Book Girl

R – Flower girl, Sound man, Cous’

S – Kitchen Sergeant

T – Piano/Cook/Driver, Kitchen Worker, Usher

U – UNBELIEVABLY HARD WORKERS

V – VERY SWEET COUNTENANCES

W – WONDERFUL FELLOWSHIP

X – EXCELLENT ATTITUDES

Y – YES, WE DID IT IN SIX HOURS

Z – Box carrier

This entry was posted in Wedding Plans and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The Wedding Day

  1. Toni says:

    Laura, I am so happy for you that the wedding went so well and that it was such a beautiful, blessed event. Blessings to the new bride and groom and to the bride’s parents.

  2. Tamz says:

    It was truly a beautiful, meaningful, wonderful day!!! Love to you all!

  3. Thanking our Lord for the glorious wedding celebration you all had. Many congrats and blessings being sent your way. What lovely memories of this day you will have. ♥ to all!

  4. Jan Danielson says:

    We so enjoyed the wedding. It was beautiful in every way.

  5. Amy says:

    Wish I could have been there!
    Your ABC list is a fun puzzle for me. I think I have about half figured out. 🙂

  6. just me says:

    I was so happy to be able to help where ever I could. It was my priviledge to bless you and yours! I would do it all over again in a heart beat. 🙂

  7. Tamz says:

    Just Me, I’m sure we’ll all have a chance to do it again many times in the next 10 years. ‘o)
    It was indeed a privilege and blessing to be a part of. I keep thinking of them and praying for them all day this week.

Leave a Reply

