Ikea

Well, I suppose it’s therapeutic to dive right into the next thing:  a redo of Daughter’s bedroom.  A few years ago, D1 got to choose the décor; this time D2 gets the honors.

I was heading to Ikea today anyway, so I went online and showed her the chest of drawers I had in mind.  She liked it—and asked if they had it in black, because she wants her color scheme to be lime green and black.  I told her okay, but she’d better know I will put the kibosh on any cammo.   This color combo is fine; she had wanted a different color for each wall (including the green and black).  Her dad told her, “That’s fine until you’re trying to get to sleep with a tummy full of ice cream some night.  It would come right back up.”

At the store, I also found lime green throws and black pillows, a black lamp and lime green shade, and a black trash can.  I don’t have photo texting, so I just called her and described it (and the inexpensive pricing); she was pleased.

For the record, Daughter wasn’t the only big winner: also in my possession tonight are barstools, chair pads, canisters, an apron, and a couple of kitchen gadgets.  I also picked up a little doodad for the bride and groom.

Tonight we plan to assemble the dresser and rent a carpet cleaner.  Tomorrow, Lord willing, we’ll pick up a test jar of green paint.  After that, it’s up to Daughter.  I’m a little worried about her “green” fixation: maybe she’s been drinking too much Mountain Dew.  She’ll probably want a poster of that.  Oh, and a horse (of a different color?).  Hey, how about John Deere tractor?  That’s green and black! 😉

Well, anyway.  I’m thankful for these preoccupations, along with a few other irons in the fire that had to be put on the back burner until after the wedding.  Busy is good.

Now: I wonder where I could find a giant Kermit the Frog?

This entry was posted in Homemaking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ikea

  1. Tamz says:

    Sounds like a lot of fun!! Can’t wait to see the finished product!

  2. Lily says:

    Hey, what’s wrong with camo? 😛 But don’t worry, that’s not my plan.
    Posters of Mtn. Dew and horses? Excellent idea 😀
    Kermit???

  3. IKEA’s been getting a good bit of business lately! Son just furnished his bedroom in his new place with IKEA furniture. Of course, I will have to travel to the state next door and see him and his new residence. So dear friend, when you’re feeling forlorn about D1 moving out, praise God that she didn’t move 6 hrs away (son) or 13 hrs away (oldest daughter). I feel your pain, but it will get better, promise!

Leave a Reply

