Hard Copy

My Facebook status today:  16 Christmas cards at Dollar Tree equals 6 cents a card.  Embellish with ribbon Grandma bought in 1947, using glue I got last year:  add 2 pennies.  Now to MAIL it brings the total to 50 CENTS! … Not letting the tradition die?  …Priceless.

But I shouldn’t complain about postage: somebody’s taking my doodad to another state, and quickly.   42 cents ain’t bad.  Today’s blog is about something else.

When given the choice between digital or ink, I’ll choose ink.  I simply must have that sheet of white.  You want e-mail? You’ve got it.  But 9 times out of 10 I’ll follow with a hard copy.  It’s called coving my bases.  With scratch paper, Ha.

The same goes for greeting cards.  There’s nothing like a real card—even a six-cent one.  The person thought ahead, picked out the card, and delivered it. Sure, I’ve sent my share of e-cards. They’re fun!  But paper …rules.  (Pardon the pun.)

I make hard copies.  Trees die.  But I reduce, reuse, and recycle, so it’s all good.  After I’ve put in valuable time on a project, letting it sit and stew in the computer makes me nervous.  I print it, or save it to a second location, before turning off the computer that night.  It’s like I’m secretly afraid Wile E. Coyote’s gonna trek through my dining room, chasing the Road Runner—and ignite the ACME dynamite and blow everything up. ‘Gotta have that hard copy!

Don’t get me wrong.  I get it. In fact, my job is all digital.  But us Old School folks still like things the younger generation might not even be able to identify:

All I want for Christmas is a Pendaflex,

A Rolodex, A Paper Dex!

Gee, if I could only have some Carbon Checks,

I could wish you “Merry Christmas!”

It seems so long… Since I could say

Paper cutter, Paper clip, and Stapler!

Gosh Oh Gee, How happy I’d be

If I could write… on paper!

All I want for Christmas is a Rubber Stamp,

Then I could wish you “Merry Christmas!”

–Elsie

…If you think that was odd, try this:  VirtualStapler.com

This entry was posted in Oddities, Technology and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hard Copy

  1. Yer husband says:

    OK. I went to VirtualStapler.com.
    I have only one question.
    WHY?

Leave a Reply

