Psych!

“Would you guys like to do a good deed for an 85-year-old woman?”  When they looked at me, they almost dropped their groceries.  In that brief moment, I expect they wondered if I had a really expensive plastic surgeon.  AWKWARD!  I quickly recovered with, “Will you please reach that cereal? It’s the only kind my mother-in-law can eat.”  One of them, speechless, slowly reached for the cereal and handed it to me.  “Thanks.”  And we parted without another word.   As I walked down the aisle, it suddenly occurred to me: for a second or so, I wonder if that dude actually thought I might be 85! [Nah…]

Oh, wow.  That reminds me of a time somebody fooled me—without meaning to.  Do not, under ANY circumstances, ever utter these words:  “When’s the baby due?”  DON’T DO IT!

One time a couple of summers ago, in a parking lot, I (passenger) and someone from the next vehicle (driver) bumped backsides.  I made the mistake of uttering those regrettable words, “Excuse me, Sir.”  I shuddered as I looked at that dude’s feminine mouth growling the response: “…MA’AME!”    I don’t even recall what I said, probably the wrong thing.

Yesterday my daughter was comparing the eating habits of our puppy and someone else’s dog.  Unfortunately, the conversation got mixed up a bit, and I could not tell whether she was talking about animals or their owners.  I could not help but smirk when Lily said, “She’s just a little chubby….”.

And, finally, I will share the one that just now happened:  I came out of the bathroom and cheerfully sang, “I’m BA-A-ACK!”  My daughter says, “That’s gross.”  HAHA, she was talking about the picnic cooler in her hands.  But the timing was perfect.

This entry was posted in Mind Matters and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Psych!

  1. marian says:

    Ya, my favorite is when I answer the phone, and the caller says, “Hi little boy, can I please speak to your mommy or daddy?” 😛

  2. Just me says:

    Do you do baptisms? Sorry, had to bring it up,….again…it’s too rich not to.=D

  3. Just me says:

    We’ve all had our moments eh? 🙂

  4. Amber says:

    Very funny 🙂 We’ve all been there.

Leave a Reply

