It’s Always Dave

At our Valentine dinner, I described to my husband how I’m doing a Facebook 30-day Challenge.  It’s posting the picture of the day (the person you could not imagine living without, etc.).I’ve posted a different person each day, but—like I told David—the truth is, it’s always him.  But, yeah, it would be weird to post Dave for every category.  People would think I’m clever, contrived, or kissing up.  David’s response was astute: each of these categories should be the spouse.  If not, something’s wrong.  Well said, Dave.

As I review the list, though, it would be a stretch to say David would be top choice for all 30.  We actually giggled that I would definitely not chose him for a person you’d love to trade places with for a day.  He said he would not want to trade with me, either.  We prudently decided not to analyze that!  But Day 10 could have totally been Dave:  the person you do the most messed up things with.

Overall, this Challenge has been an unexpected opportunity to mention people who mean a lot to me.  And I love the comments: for the category the person whose gotten me through the most, I posted my mom.  My husband’s aunt wrote, “Good job, Laura, giving credit where credit is due.”  If this photo project does nothing else, it will have knocked me into consciousness regarding how indebted I am to my family.

Well, for the remaining two weeks, it’ll be fun to secretly decide where David would have been the one.  I can say right now he can rest assured it would not be Days 18 or 21: my biggest insecurity, and something I wish I could forget.

This entry was posted in Hobbies, Life With Hubby, Relationships and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It’s Always Dave

  1. Derek says:

    Thought your comment about “Day 10 could have totally been Dave: the person you do the most messed up things with” was pretty funny. I would have to say my answer to that would be me. O wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death?

  2. Yer husband says:

    Why don’t you put the challenges up on the blog so us faceless book folks can follow along?

  3. elsiephoebe says:

    Okay, Facey-boy: Here’s what’s been posted so far.
    Day 01 – A picture of yourself with ten facts. ME!
    Day 02 – A picture of you and the person you have been close with for the longest. DAVID.
    Day 03 – A picture of the cast from your favorite show. FOR THIS I POSTED A PIC OF MY DAUGHTERS AND THEIR GOOFBALL FRIENDS.
    Day 04 – A picture of your night. SUNSET ON THE BEACH. (Tamz commented, “You wish.”)
    …Day 05 – A picture of your favorite memory. FRUIT LOOP TRIP.
    Day 06 – A picture of a person you’d love to trade places with for a day. MY SISTER, DIANE.
    Day 07 – A picture of your most treasured item. OUR HOUSE.
    Day 08 – A picture that makes you laugh. EMILY WEARING A FUNNY HAT AND MAKING A FACE (posted on her birthday).
    Day 09 – A picture of the person who has gotten you through the most. MY MOM.
    Day 10 – A picture of the person you do the most messed up things with. MY OLDER SISTER, CRYSTAL.
    Day 11 – A picture of something you hate. CARAMEL APPLES.
    Day 12 – A picture of something you love. ICE CREAM WITH AWESOME PEEPS! (A pic of me eating ice cream with oldest daughter A-Jay.)
    Day 13 – A picture of your favorite band or artist. DAUGHTER LILY AFTER PIANO RECITAL.
    Day 14 – A picture of someone you could never imagine your life without. MY DAD.
    Day 15 – A picture of something you want to do before you die. DISNEY WORLD.
    Day 16 – A picture of someone who inspires you. BARBARA G.
    Day 17 – A picture of something that has made a huge impact on your life recently. SON-IN-LAW JEFF.
    Day 18 – A picture of your biggest insecurity. BEN.

Leave a Reply

