Slippery Slope to Insanity

Every day, I look insanity in the face (literally). There’s no escaping it: every daylight hour, I tell myself to buck up, open that door, and enter the loony-bin.

Most of us don’t think very often about crazy people; just the occasional question mark when we remember Jack Sparrow, Palance, or Nicholson.  Some of us have known somebody on the fringe, but most don’t deal with Wacky Willy on a daily basis.

The more I’m around her, the more I think about what it means to be crazy; and the more I realize, if not for God restraining us, anybody, really, could sink into psychosis quite quickly.

I, myself, have Some Stuff:  a Senile Senior Steadily Scratching Sheetrock, for Starters.  Add to that her Struggles, Stinkies, and Spit—and I’m on the verge.

I’m thankful God keeps me in check.  If not for His hope, His Word, and His people, I’d go nuts with all of life’s Stupid Searching, Shopping, and Software—not to mention my Size, Dishes, Sewing, Spiders, Shenanigans, and that Sassy Siamese Cat.  It’s enough to make you go mental!

On the Serious Side, let’s face it: life can be Scary: Shivering, Searching, Sorrow, Sin, and Shame.  Such Sadness can be disheartening.  As for me, the worst is Solitary Silent Separation. I must be Social to Survive.

I Say we’re all just a Sliver away from the Slippery Slope.

So let’s pray.

Seriously.

For the weapons of our warfare are not carnal but mighty in God for pulling down strongholds, casting down arguments and every high thing that exalts itself against the knowledge of God, bringing every thought into captivity to the obedience of Christ…  2 Cor. 10:4-5

 

This entry was posted in Caregiver, Mind Matters and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Slippery Slope to Insanity

  1. elsiephoebe says:

    I got a couple of phone calls after posting this blog. Once again, my sense of humor is taken way too seriously. I’m not going crazy. (Yet, LOL)

Leave a Reply

