Tax Return the Favor

Benjamin Franklin wrote: “Our new Constitution is now established, and has an appearance that promises permanency; but in this world nothing can be said to be certain, except death and taxes.” It figures!  Now, in our time, they’re ripping apart the Constitution. Man, if they had to pick one, why couldn’t it be the taxes?

Hind sight is 20/20. Our daughter was married late last year, and we forgot to plan on her no longer being an exemption. Add that to my self-employment tax, and I’m scrambling for deductions.  The way I feel this morning reminds me of a hangover:  it was fun while it lasted, but I do not want to do that again. Today’s Charles Spurgeon devotional comes to mind: “If it be true that the Christian Church is to a great extent asleep, the more reason why we should be awake…”

Anyway, back to taxes—because betwixt death and taxes, it’s the less offensive topic (maybe?).  By the way, yeah, yeah, some of you make your cash work for you, paying taxes and premiums in lump sums; kudos for your brilliant planning. (I hate you.  jk)

We finally increased the withholding amount; we took that hit the same month Lily’s car insurance kicked in.  Talk about a double-whammy! And it’s a triple-hit if you count the fact that I started this diet about that time; eating right is expensive! Yeah, yeah, some of you already knew healthy eating is worth it.  (I hate you too.  jk)

To the rest of you (that I don’t hate,  jk) – Do yourself a favor and think now about creative deductions for your next return.  Oh, and in case you didn’t know, this year you have until April 18 because of a D.C. holiday. wOOt!

Sure, I’ll give this Return another run-through, but I’m pretty sure I didn’t miss any credits or deductions.  This stinks—with a capital “S.”  I wrote the other day that I like preparing my taxes.  I wasn’t lying.  But I did not say I had to like the results.

This entry was posted in Finances and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tax Return the Favor

  1. elsiephoebe says:

    I may have sniffed out a way not to pay. Stay tuned for details, lol

Leave a Reply

