Clean Criminals

Okay, so I saw this odd local news story.  This guy calls 9-1-1:  “I just broke into a house, and the owner came home.”  Meanwhile, 9-1-1 gets another call: “I have an intruder in my house…he said he broke in and he was kidnapped and he was taking a shower.”  Yup, both of these calls are coming from the same place.  9-1-1 asks her if he sounded high or drunk, and she responds, “Well, he’s obviously nuts.”

At dinner last night, David told me of another story where the person broke in, cooked a meal, cleaned the house, and went on his way—taking nothing.

Man, what a world.  Twenty years ago we would never guessed that in our time a woman could return from the grocery store to find her house all spic and span, or be greeted by a freshly-showered young man!

Whenever I come home, all I get is a rambunctious Labrador—and he has not washed the dishes.  Maybe I could put a sign on the window:

“We’ll be gone an hour; you can get a shower.

In you we trust, if you vacuum and dust.

Nah, that wouldn’t work; Ben would probably neuter the guy.

I bet you all are a lot like me: secretly wishing we’d show up for work some morning and discover the Job Fairy already has you all caught up.  But no, I don’t think I’ve ever found that to be the case.  As I retired last night I told Dave, “I didn’t get all the things done today that I wanted to.”  The next bit was almost in unison:  “It’ll still be there tomorrow.”

Yeah, yeah.  No Job Fairy.  Oh well, I guess I’ll keep doing my own chores.  (Who am I kidding?  Lily does ‘em! LOL)

This entry was posted in Oddities. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Clean Criminals

  1. That’s the one thing i liked about Rob not working and being pregnant, the house is always spotless and he cooks dinner.
    Alas, all good things must come to an end!

  2. elsiephoebe says:

    While Rob was between jobs, …he was pregnant? 😉

Leave a Reply

