Surreal Doesn’t Begin to Cover It

Death, Devastation, and Destruction are an ocean away. It’s beyond comprehension that there may be 10,000 lost lives, and that thousands are without food, water, and heat.

My mother, who lives here in an addition to our house, is currently visiting my sister (distant from here).  Last night Mom was admitted into a hospital down there: low BP and a UTI.  All I can do is pray, and wait for another phone call.

My husband’s chronic illness has been acting up, poor guy.  I’m praying for him, too.

David’s mother is getting weaker.  Just now, when I asked how she’s doing she replied, “I’m just so tired.”  This was one of her lucid moments, which are few.  The last semi-lucid moment was Saturday.  She said, “I should go to the hospital.”  After I ascertained she was okay, she explained her meaning:  “I didn’t want to do this to you.”  [Is that sweet, or what?]  Praying for Effie, too.

I’ve been studying diligently for a presentation; the weird part is, I am not yet assured I will get to make it.  (But studying can’t hurt.)

Oh, and I’m tightening the belt following a diet plateau that led to some minor deviation from the straight and narrow.

And – yeah – It’s a Monday.

It was a rough morning.  But things have settled down.  It’s still Monday, I can’t do anything about that.  But God’s in control over Japan, Hubby’s at work, we’ve adapted to Effie’s latest dementia changes, I’m embracing the delights of green salad, and I expect I’ll hear soon how Mom’s doing.

I will end with these words of comfort:

The prophecy spoken by David the king,

Are precious words to which I cling:

Ps. 16:11
You will show me the path of life;
In Your presence is fullness of joy;
At Your right hand are pleasures forevermore.
This entry was posted in Caregiver, Prayer Needs and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Surreal Doesn’t Begin to Cover It

  1. michelle says:

    I miss you all and love you so much! :/

  2. elsiephoebe says:

    Aw, thanks, Mish. Let’s walk when it stops raining.

  3. Tamz says:

    I miss you too and think about you daily! Update when you hear about your mom. I’m busy, but would love to take a few hours out to come see you. I can do that, you know.

  4. Just me says:

    Been praying for you and your family. Missed you on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

