“Fireflies” …tweaked

Tune:  “Fireflies” by Owl City

I could not believe my ears!

I wish that you all could hear–

She pointed at the wall and said, “Sh–!”

And then she looked  back at me

As if she’s waiting to see

What I would do,

But I just giggled, “Tee hee.”

I’d like to make myself believe

That she could plan such mischief.

It’s hard to say what she really may

Be thinking (if anything).

The things she says are beyond belief!

 

When talking, she really cheats:

She fools us by her repeats,

But it’s clear she doesn’t understand a thing.

To help her, we took a vow;

But I’m starting to wonder how

She can continue this way (Wow!).

I’d like to make myself believe

That she is not quite crazy;

It’s hard to say anything anyway,

Because she comes and goes–

I guess it doesn’t matter, I suppose,

I just keep watering the rose.

 

It is hard to entertain

Someone with a failing brain;

You can’t play cards or sing a song,

And the days seem really long.

But still we go on each day,

Winging it weekly, come what may.

I get misty eyes thinking of farewell.

And in the meantime, here we are,

Dealing with what is quite bizarre!

Waiting for her Bright and Morning Star…

I’d like to make myself believe

That things might get easier.

It’s hard to say what will come my way

As weeks and months go by;

Something tells me I’m going to cry

When we finally say, “Good-bye.”

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Caregiver, Ditties and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

