Little White Lies

Little White Lies.  Miniature Harmless Deceptions.  Infinitesimal Nebulous Fabrications.  A lie by any other name would smell as sour.

When discussing untruths, I’ve never liked the word fabrication.  That connotes creating a concoction.  I suppose, here, that would be an excuse.   But most lies are the polar opposite: they don’t create, they eradicate.  (Or try to.)

I know the deal, but I won’t squeal.

= – = – =

“What’s wrong?”

“Nothing.”

Do people actually believe that one?  In case you do, here’s a little FYI:  That one-word answer really means, “Nothing is ‘wrong’ as far as you are concerned.  Because when you ask the question, you don’t really want the answer, do you?”

= – = – =

“Are you okay?”

“I’m fine, just tired.”

I pity-duh-fool who believes that blatant deceit.  Translation?  “Actually, I’ve been sick going on three weeks now, my job is a pain, and I finally realized I’m not popular.  But I’m trying to make the best of it.  You ‘got a problem with that?”

= – = – =

“Oh yeah, did I tell you …”.

“I gotta go.”
Translation: “Your ridiculous stories are starting to cause my cerebral vortex to gradually harden; if I don’t escape now, your blathering will utterly debilitate my reasoning and muscle functions.”

= – = – =

“Oh, hey, cool.”

 “Sorry, that was my last piece of gum.”

Strangely, everybody believes that one!  After all, gum is cheap.  Why would somebody lie about that?

= – = – =

Prov. 26:18-19   Like a madman who throws firebrands, arrows, and death, Is the man who deceives his neighbor, And says, “I was only joking!”

Lies are like rabbits: they multiply rapidly.  Also like rabbits, they seem quite harmless—but once you let down your guard, they bite you in the butt.  And another thing fibs have in common with bunnies:  their droppings fall outside their domain—and somebody else has to clean up the mess.

This entry was posted in AAA Laura's Favorites :), Keeping up Appearances, Mind Matters and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Little White Lies

  1. Ethan says:

    Just to continue your analogy, I think there’s a lot of theological truth here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pmu5sRIizdw

  2. “After all, gum is cheap.” Um…have you bought gum lately? Nothing is cheap anymore, even gum. 😉

    • elsiephoebe says:

      I see your winking emoticon, meaning you’re speaking tongue in cheek (or cheek and gum). Anyway, yeah, 70 cents split by 15 sticks is only 4 cents for my buddy to enjoy an hour or two of minty bliss. And if we’re sitting together, the benefit comes back to me, Ha. 😉

  3. Just me says:

    I totally get the rabbit analogy thing! Boy ain’t it the truth! sadly….:/

Leave a Reply

