Happy Day!

I deserve to be punished.  Severely.

I’ve done bad things.  I’m ten for ten.  I lived as if there were no God, believed what liars told me about Him, and used His name flippantly.  I ignored His rest, disrespected my parents, lusted, stole, lied, and was dissatisfied with what I had.

There’s no possible way I could stop all this, and certainly never could undo it all.  I deserve hell.

But I am not going there.

God came to earth and died a man’s death, and told us that His forgiveness only extends to those who humbly acknowledge that His blood is the only blood that can pay the debt owed.

God is alive and well, and this weekend we take time to remember the awesome thing done for sinners—God died and death could not contain Him.

It’s beyond words.  I like words, but this wonder is more than I can articulate.  One word I can say is Jesus:  God with us.

If you have not believed in the One death that can pay your debt, please turn around and do it.

Because I’m not the only one who deserves to be punished.  Severely.

30 years ago, God rescued me from sin’s absolute grip (I was a slave to it), and while I still do sin, He’s been helping me be stronger against it with every passing year.

Happy Day!  Resurrection Day!

“God commends His love toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.”  …  “For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosoever believes in Him shall not perish, but have everlasting life.” 

 

This entry was posted in Christianity and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

