Unexpected Gladness

Almost a week ago David’s sister gave me an early birthday present.  “Oh, goodie,” I gagged silently as I accepted a CD from this fan of voices like George Beverly Shea.  ‘Finally played it today, in the car. 

Oh.  My.  Goodness. 

This world has been a wilderness / I’m headed for deliverance
Lord, I’ve never been this homesick before

Effie, of course, came to mind.  I haven’t bawled like this since my firstborn announced her wedding engagement!  Another song went like this: 

Build my mansion next door to Jesus
And tell the angels I’m coming home

I was on my way to meet friends, so I had no choice but to have it out, a good cry through suburbia.  My own personal struggles bubbled to the top as I heard this one:

It’s dark as a dungeon and the sun seldom shines
And I question Lord why must this be
Then He tells me there’s strength in my sorrow and there’s victory in trials for me

My sister-in-law is a simple woman, with simple faith—very much like her mother:  hence my not holding out much hope for this CD.  But these lyrics broke me to pieces and built me back up again—all in the space of a drive to midtown.

Teardrops aren’t welcome beyond the gates of glory

Cause the heart will never break anymore

I always figured David and I would be the backbone for Lois; but today she gave me something my soul has been sorely in need of:  words of encouragement, strength, and hope. 

I’m trusting to, the unseen hand,
That guides me through this weary land

Frankly, I’m still scratching my head about this.  Could it be that she has been helped by these songs and knew it would be good for me, too?

The holy hills of Heaven call me
To mansions bright across the sea

 Maybe I pegged his simple sister all wrong.  Until Saturday I will not know.  But I can tell you one thing:  GOD knew.

I’ll fall asleep and wake in God’s new Heaven,
Sheltered safe within the arms of God.

So a grateful shout-out to Lois. 

And fond remembrance ~ of Dottie Rambo.

P.S.  Yes,it’s playing in Effie’s room.

This entry was posted in AAA Laura's Favorites :), Caregiver and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Unexpected Gladness

  1. Toni says:

    Isn’t it amazing how God uses people that we would never expect to encourage/teach us?

Leave a Reply

