It Seemed Like a Good Idea at the Time

Dialogue from the movie “Live Free or Die Hard”:

Lucy McClane: Daddy, you’re out of your mind.

John McClane: What’re you talkin’ about?

Lucy McClane: You shot yourself!

John McClane: [groaning] It seemed like a good idea at the time.

We finally replaced our front walk!  My son-in-law did a great job.  Thanks to Jeff and his worthy assistant Lily, our home’s ingress and egress is no longer hazardous to your health.

You see, after a partial remodel some years back, Yours Truly threw together a loosely-packed mess that vaguely resembled a walkway.  It seemed like a good idea at the time.  Only upon its removal did I learn that whenever coming or going, people prayed and took one another’s hands—and it wasn’t to sing “Kumbaya.”

Hindsight is 20/20.   In fact, over the years I recall a couple of tumbles: somebody’s hind was in sight!

This isn’t the only time one of my brainiac ideas turned  into a fiasco.  (You know, like the Edsel.  And New Coke.)  If a decision seems prudent, or the fork in the road ambiguous, I believe in plodding onward.  Too much planning just dampens the fun, don’t you agree?

Take that Prom night, for instance.  (I guess I’m destined to work that topic into every blog this month.)  Or how about the way we ended up with this obnoxious cat?  While my daughters enjoyed the giant slide at the fireworks stand, I held one of the free kittens.  Some woman comes along:  “Are you taking that one?”  I looked at the kitty, then back at her:  “Well.  I guess I am!”

It seemed like a good idea at the time.

This blog has been jelling since the front walk broke ground.  I dared not post, though, because over the weekend my every regret flashed before my eyes.  All said, I finally decided that life is a series of decisions; if something doesn’t’ seem like a good idea, Duh, we don’t do it!  (Um, well… let’s leave sin out of this, shall we?)

Besides: plodding onward is better than plugging along after somebody delivers that line from every Star Wars movie:  “I’ve got a bad feeling about this.”

This entry was posted in Mind Matters. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

