Life-Shapers

At my age, it’s no surprise that there’s a list of souls I’ve known but don’t see nowadays.  To (yet again) quote one of my favorite songs:  “In my life, I’ve loved them all.”  Rather than lamenting their absence, I rejoice in having known them.  Every person had a positive impact: even the worst of them brought me powerful lessons.

Today I remember my top 30 or so.  To quote another lyric I over-use, here they are—the good, the bad, and the ugly—and lessons they passed on (even if they didn’t know it):

Nancy and Esther:  There’s life among the wallflowers.

Sam and Chris:  Looking at yourself too much makes you look ugly.

Kathy and Annette:  Blind ambition can turn you into a prig.

Mr. Tonini:  It’s okay to be second fiddle.

Mr. Mund:  If you want to learn something, immerse yourself in it.

Chris:  Wacky is fun!

Wes:  Chivalry is not dead.

Kevin:  We don’t have to stay on the other side of the tracks.

Leslie:  A brain is a gift: use it.

Marie:  You’re never too old to be cute.

Mr. Lynn:  Religion and vulgarity don’t mix.

Bill:  I’m proud to be an American.

Jodie:  All work and no play make Jack a dull boy.

Mary:  Big things come in small packages.

Laura:  There’s a fine line between friend and boss lady.

Richard:  Are you stuck?  Make the best of it!

Roy:  I’d rather dance than fight.

Pam:  Wouldn’t you like to be a heifer too?

Glenda:  Where my husband goes, I go.

Bob:  Haste makes waste.

Marcie:  If something’s worth doing, it’s worth doing well.

Barbara:  Do voice exercises before a solo.

Shar:  Wherever you are, make yourself at home.

This entry was posted in Relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Life-Shapers

  1. Tamz says:

    I hope to never make that list; I want to always be your friend. ‘o)

Leave a Reply

