I’m a Loser – WINNING!

With lyrics like “With the plastic eyeballs, spray paint the vegetables,” Beck’s “Loser” is hands-down the oddest song ever.  But there are times I totally identify with the chorus:  “Soy un perdedor, I’m a loser baby.”  Even my ever-loved Beatles said it:  “I’m a loser, And I’m not what I appear to be.”

When talking about myself (which this blog proves I dig doing), I used to tell folks that, as a child, I had an inferiority complex.  I’ve since changed that story.

I no longer use the past tense.

Oh, don’t get freaked.  I know God’s Word—that such a diagnosis is secular in origin; what matters is what we do with it.  While psychoanalysis has its problems (e.g. advocating medication and retreat), I am not against analyzing behavior as an incentive for improvement.

My young life was pretty messed up; it stood to reason I wouldn’t have my head on straight.  Thankfully I am “being transformed by the renewing of my mind.”  While I still beat myself up (too often), there are plenty of times when I feel superior.  (Surprise!  I cancel myself out!)  I don’t have a Charlie Sheen Winning! vibe, but yeah, I’m just like every other son of Adam: I perceive myself as downright brilliant.

But seriously. I don’t take myself so seriously.  We need balance and perspective if we want achievement with humility.  And it doesn’t hurt to keep in mind that excessive Dissing Me is a disguised preoccupation with self.

Romans 12:2-3  And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God. / For I say, through the grace given to me, to everyone who is among you, not to think of himself more highly than he ought to think, but to think soberly, as God has dealt to each one a measure of faith.

Speaking of psycho-babble, I must confess—reading Beck’s lyrics boosted my self-esteem:  at least I’ve never ended a song with, “And my time is a piece of wax, fallin’ on a termite that’s chokin’ on the splinters.”

This entry was posted in AAA Laura's Favorites :), Mind Matters. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I’m a Loser – WINNING!

  1. Tamz says:

    …no, but now you’ve ended your blog with it. ‘o)

  2. Ethan says:

    “I know God’s Word—that such a diagnosis is secular in origin; what matters is what we do with it.”

    You absolutely nailed it how Christians aught to deal with culture.

    “And it doesn’t hurt to keep in mind that excessive Dissing Me is a disguised preoccupation with self.”

    Psychoanalyzing your own comments: meta brilliance.

Leave a Reply

