Day In, Day Out

I’ve been breathing for nearly 20,000 days.  Thus, I’ve learned on many fronts what is meant by the hackneyed phrase, Day in, Day Out: constant, unrelieved, relentless monotony.

Anybody who’s attended public school knows about this!  Cereal, bus, bell, class, repeat.  Or how about your first job?  Eggs, traffic, timecard, task, repeat.  Have any of you had an infant? raised a puppy? kept a garden? maintained a vehicle? been married? Then you know what it is:  all in a day’s work; routine.  Same stuff, different day.

We all know the dangers of discontent or boredom.  When we find ourselves there, we want out fast!  Shaking things up seems the only option.  Ironically, that haste to change the status quo is what can get us into trouble.   Each of us has friends and relatives divorced for these reasons, only to jump from the frying pan into the fire.

I beg your pardon – I never promised you a rose garden.
Along with the sunshine – There’s gotta be a little rain sometimes.

Being a caregiver is the epitome of the daily doldrums.  I find I must make a conscious effort not to let it get me down:

I try to stamp out the “I wish” and bring out the “I’m glad.”

If it’s blue day, let’s try pink.

Can something be made into a game?

How can I switch the schedule?

Do I need a break?

SURPRISE!

It’s important to keep perspective.  We remind ourselves, “This too shall pass.”

And most importantly, we can just be thankful that it isn’t worse (because it always can be).

As for me and my persistent home-hours, repetition, diapers, laundry, and food trays, I would do well to take my focus off of it entirely, look to God for comfort, and count my blessings.

And it can’t hurt to remember the little sign in Aunt Somebody’s kitchen:

Thank God for dirty dishes;They have a tale to tell.
While others may go hungry We’re eating very well
With home, health, and happiness,I shouldn’t want to fuss;
By the stack of evidence, God’s been very good to us.

 

This entry was posted in Caregiver, Homemaking, Relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day In, Day Out

  1. Just Me says:

    Amen! I will definately second that one! Great post today, as always. Praying for you too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

