Teacher of Women

Some of my personal Bible studies take long enough that it’s the main focus of that day.  Thus, it seems prudent for that to be they day’s weblog.  I’ve done it a few times.

Yesterday was such a day.   I’ve been reading the book of Galatians during the month of July, and had wanted to dig deeper into a particular section of the letter.  I finally did, and since the day yielded nothing else of interest to my readers, I posted the results.

It occurred to me later, however, that this particular entry (my paraphrase of a 20-verse passage) was highly instructional and convicting.  There’s nothing wrong with that, but since this blog enjoys the readership of some I am not comfortable with teaching, I deleted the entry.

It again brought to the forefront repeated questions regarding this blog:  (1) What is it? (2) Why is it? And (3) For whom is it?  [Answers: (1) It is what it is.  (2) Because it blesses me and my readers.  (3) Anybody with a computer and a minute to spare.]  That being the case, it’s certainly within my purpose to occasionally exegete a Bible passage.  I just felt this particular one could be perceived as me standing behind a pulpit.  And that’s not who I am.   I’m a scholar, not an elder (for which I am very thankful).

The other side of the coin is that I’m not merely a wife and nursemaid.  My heart and mind are blessed with a hunger to learn and teach, and nobody has ever squelched that (for which I am also thankful).  I dare say that one reason for these opportunities is that the Holy Spirit does constrain me.  When my auto-pilot (flesh) kicks in, He is good and pulls in the reins. (Again, I’m thankful!)

Wrapping this up, I want to say I believe the following verses are for Christian women today, and not to be discarded out of convenience to American society:

1 Cor. 14:34-35  Let your women keep silent in the churches, for they are not permitted to speak; but they are to be submissive, as the law also says. And if they want to learn something, let them ask their own husbands at home; for it is shameful for women to speak in church.

Titus 2:3-4   the older women likewise, that they be reverent in behavior, not slanderers, not given to much wine, teachers of good things— that they admonish the young women to love their husbands, to love their children

 

 

This entry was posted in Christianity and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Teacher of Women

  1. Toni says:

    Some of the best Biblical teaching that I have ever received was at your side in the classes that Russ taught us. I learned a lot from him, but also from you and your inspirations. :o)

  2. marian says:

    How about if you put “For Women Only”… as I really enjoyed reading it also.
    Love you dear friend in Christ! 😀

    • elsiephoebe says:

      I decided “For Women Only” would bring all the MEN to the site, HA-HA! ….But later I did decide that, since I do like sharing Bible studies with the ladies, I’ll keep doing so, maybe as a supplement at the end of a blog. Thanks, Marian.

Leave a Reply

