The Right Thing

Doing the right thing: each of us has a hundred opportunities—every day.  How well we fare can depend on many things: spiritual life, training, health, strength, even intelligence.

Today, life is complicated and fast-paced; it’s very possible, when such an opportunity is presented, to miss it, minimize it, or misuse it.  Sin: the original “Easy Button.”  (If you don’t believe me, just look at a newspaper or magazine.)

Years of experience as a wife, mother, teacher, secretary, supervisor, and minister have taught me (the hard way):  In order not to blow it during those instant-choice moments, one must exercise a lot of self-discipline.

Yesterday Effie was unmanageable.  Remember, we’ve never been close, and add to that downright horrible behavior, and, well, it really takes discipline to do the right thing.

This week I watched Effie win the hearts of these hospice personnel; they’re passing the cute little pixie photo around the office.  But then, for Effie to shoot me with both barrels like this, it’s hard to deal with.  Yes, yes, I know (better than anybody) she’s insane.  But still, I find myself empathizing with mothers who tell me how schmaltzy-sweet their child is–until he gets behind closed doors and, BAM!  …It’s a thorn in the flesh that doesn’t seem to have a sweet-smelling rose anywhere.

I also tip my hat to persons in the medical field that deal with these difficult people day-in and day-out.  Wow.  ‘Gotta hand it to ya.

I try!  And [by the grace given me by the Lord] I do okay generally?—but I’m only human; perfection is unattainable.  I figure the important thing is to watch the incremental aspect of sin, and pray, pray, pray.

When given a split-second moment to choose good or evil, it behooves me to stop and think of what a heinous villain I was—undeserving of anything, much less forgiveness from the God Whom I’d sinned against grievously. Here’s the verse I hold onto these days with every fiber of my tattered, feeble, brittle being:  Romans 5:8   But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

So here’s to doing the right thing.  …I think I’ll put an extra cookie on her lunch tray.  😉

 

 

This entry was posted in Caregiver, Christianity and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Right Thing

  1. Tamz says:

    … and maybe an extra one for you too. ‘o) May God continue to give you the daily manna you need. “And my God shall supply all your need according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus. Now to our God and Father be glory forever and ever. Amen.” Phil. 4:19-20

  2. Just Me says:

    Praying for you, dear sister! I can’t imagine how difficult these months have been. I know my time is coming…I should start praying NOW for the extra measure of love, JOY, peace, LONG SUFFERING, Kindness, goodness faithfulness,gentleness, and SELF CONTROL….that I’ll need to care for my folks! We’re close, but, we all know what happens when we lose our minds! LOL May the Lord bless you today as He always has and always will.

    By the way….I second Tamz…an extra cookie for you too! =D

    • elsiephoebe says:

      I do apologize for the grumbly-blog; it’s not the best (ergo the reminder I’m only human). Regarding the cookies, yeah the cookie therapy’s been doing be a lot of good, NOT!!

  3. Just Me says:

    Yeah, I am afraid I have strayed too far from my being good on my diet too. Too much “comfort food.”
    If comfort food generally is bad for you why do they call it comfort food? cuz if it’s bad for you then you feel bad physically…then you feel crummy mentally…hmmm..seems oxymoronic…maybe just moronic hahaha! =D I don’t think I’ve ever been fat and HAPPY LOL Anyway just some silly “food-for-thought” HA

  4. Just Me says:

    Hahahahahaha! you’re soooo funny! =D

  5. Just Me says:

    I’ll leave it to the experts….for now anyway 🙂

Leave a Reply

