I Know My Rights

I KNOW MY RIGHTS:

= – = – =

I can vote,

I can worship,

And I can freely speak and write.

= – = – =

I can move,

I can assemble:

I can gather with whom I like.

= – = – =

I can patent,

I can carry,

Home privacy is my right.

= – = – =

Face my accuser,

Not held long,

And I don’t have to say a mite.

= – = – =

A speedy trial,

Lawyer and witnesses,

And all my property stays mine.

= – = – =

I’m free if there’s doubt,

Don’t pay for another,

And once I’m acquitted, I’m fine.

= – = – =

I can get help,

I’m protected,

And don’t slave even if they gripe.

= – = – =

I can contract,

I can own,

And I have rights to liberty and life.

= – = – =

That’s not all,

But it’s enough:

My Constitutional Rights!

= – = – =

I KNOW MY RESPONSIBILITIES:

Keep the law,

Go and vote,

Do not commit treason.

= – = – =

Serve when called,

Pay my taxes,

Keep contracts within reason.

= – = – =

Be an impartial juror,

Truth under oath,

Hunt and fish only in season.

= – = – =

This entry was posted in AAA Laura's Favorites :), Mind Matters and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Know My Rights

  1. marian says:

    Where’s the “Like” button on this?! ;D

    • elsiephoebe says:

      I’m glad you “liked” the reminders, My Fellow American.
      P.S. I disabled the “Like” button because spammers were using it to get seen. …I’m enjoying my rights!

  2. Just Me says:

    AMEN!!! I wish more Americans knew their rights and understood our constitution. Seems as though we need a voter or two to remind others of these rights. I “liked” this entry too! 😉

Leave a Reply

