I Could Have Been Somebody!

The other day, as we pondered my current daily dilemma, a longtime friend reminded me:  “You could have been somebody.”

I was dumbfounded.

Nah, not really.  It was referring to my career:  They were “grooming me for success.”  At the time, it all sounded so impressive.  But know what? Even then I knew it wasn’t about me; it was gray suits squeezing out their pound of flesh.  (But, oh, for that flesh, I was collecting copious cool cash.)

So this week, as we talked about the could-haves and would-haves, my old pal and I delighted that I deserted downtown to develop a dwelling.  If I ever regret not climbing the corporate ladder, there are two important things to consider:  (A) I raised a godly daughter; and (B) I raised another godly daughter.  This is the stuff of eternity.  Somehow, supervising secretaries and selling silly stuff pales in comparison.

Sure, I had an office.  But now I have a whole house.  I had skills in business.  But now I have skills in a lot more than that!  I had a good income.  But now I have a crown of righteousness.

While we’re at it, with the current economic woes, there’s certainly no guarantee I would have progressed onward and upward.  In fact, before I quit working there was a major recession that set me back a notch.

I will toss into the ring that being a secular slave wasn’t entirely for naught: it taught me lots of things I’ve been using all these years.

But yes, life is full of irony:  the girls are grown, and here I am, back in the diaper den!  …Weird.  …Yes, indeed—sometimes I do think privately, “I could have been somebody!”

This entry was posted in Homemaking, Mind Matters and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I Could Have Been Somebody!

  1. Amy says:

    Amen 🙂 My old boss saw a lot of potential in me as a teacher and was “grooming” me as well. Leaving my much-loved teaching job was one of the hardest decisions I’ve ever made. But the joys of living in the role God designed for me are far surpassing the enjoyment teaching gave me.
    Thanks for the encouragement, Sister! Always a good reminder.

  2. Just Me says:

    Okay “I coulda been somebody” is the world’s half baked goods that we all have, to one level or another, bought into. You ARE somebody! You are a daughter of the King of kings, a princess in His lovely courts! You are a joint heir with the Lord Jesus Himself, our Lord, Savior, brother, and friend. (and my sister) You are in the center of His will for our highest calling as women…lover of God, lover of husband, and children, obedient to your own husband, a homemaker, one who has washed the saints feet, is hospitable, and is currently giving the most loving care to your dear mom-n-law (a widow who is helpless).
    May I say to you, YOU ARE SOMEBODY =D There’s no coulda about it…. You are a very dear somebody who I can, have, and will always look up to as a beautiful example of love in action of your will…by God’s amazing grace….can I get an AMEN out there? 🙂

  3. Lily says:

    Mom, you’re wonderful, and I’m so thankful you chose this life, raising Emily and me. 🙂

  4. elsiephoebe says:

    you——You… YOU!!!

Leave a Reply

