Patriot Day

Tomorrow, flags will be at half-staff.  Also, beginning at 5:46 AM PDT, Americans will observe a moment of silence.

Excerpt from President Bush’s Proclamation of Patriot Day:  “Civilized people around the world denounce the evildoers who devised and executed these terrible attacks. Justice demands that those who helped or harbored the terrorists be punished — and punished severely. The enormity of their evil demands it.”

Justice was served May 2, 2011.

Ps. 116:6b-7  I was brought low, and He saved me. Return to your rest, O my soul, For the LORD has dealt bountifully with you.

I decided to look in my daily log to see what I was doing ten years ago.  ‘Turns out I didn’t start keeping the journal until a year later.  But that timing was perfect: a month into it, my husband was hospitalized:  the daily diary perfectly preserved every gut-wrenching moment.  It’s true: I’ve been jotting down at least one line every day for nine years.

But even without a journal entry, I remember Nine-Eleven:  I never have the morning news on, but for some reason that day I did; I saw the second crash in real time.  Rousting the girls, we just stood there wide-eyed, almost in denial. A friend later told me she and her sister had been in a rural area in New England during the attacks; when they couldn’t get a ticket for the train, they were thoroughly confused.

And most of us have been confused ever since.

As the Giver of Days has ordained, the ten-year mark of this war against terrorists is falling on a Sunday.

What are you doing tomorrow?

This entry was posted in America, Christianity and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

