COFFEE

Hi. I’m Laura. And I’m a coffee-holic. I’m an American: It’s what we do.

Yeah, I love the stuff: hot or cold, fresh or stale, black, white, or in-between. Gimme. It must be that I like it; in this blog I’ve mentioned it over 90 times.

“Honey, this coffee tastes like dirt.”

“That’s not surprising, Dear, it was just ground this morning.”

To some, coffee is a strange brew. To me, it’s home. That’s where I get my daily dose. Starbucks has over 17,000 stores; I’ve only been to about 7. I’m not a coffee snob, but given a choice, I opt for their local competitors.

At least two of my Facebook friends remain connected to me with cream and sugar:  I always “Like” CC’s posts: “COFFEE!”  And I LOL every Friday when MS posts:  “Carmel Macchiato, your name must be Mickey…you’re so fine you blow my mind!”  … “Caramel macchiato, if you were a new hamburger at McDonalds, they would call you McGorgeous!”

Little-known facts: Coffee has antioxidants, more fiber than OJ, and alleviates dry-mouth. It wakes you up, cheers you up; it even helps your handwriting.

At a restaurant, I’ll almost always order coffee: I can’t drink lemonade, fountain drinks are watered down, and juice or milk don’t come with free refills.

How to know if you drink too much coffee:

You answer the door before people knock.

You’re the employee of the month at the local coffeehouse and you don’t even work there.

You can type sixty words per minute… with your feet.

When someone says. “How are you?”, you say, “Good to the last drop.”

You just completed another sweater and you don’t know how to knit.

I’ve been addicted to caffeine ever since I started going to A.A. meetings with one of my relatives. I knew I had a problem when he quit drinking and I kept going to the A.A. meetings, just for the coffee. (Joking.)  But I wonder—if, some time after lunch, I find myself with a cup of coffee in one hand, and a Coke in the other—is that wrong?

 

 

This entry was posted in Hobbies and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to COFFEE

  1. Tamz says:

    I’ve gone off coffee cold-turkey to see if helps me sleep better and solve some other issues. So far, it seems it may be helping. Bleh!! I was hoping it would have NO affect. I will definitely miss my morning coffee!

  2. Kim says:

    This is hilarious. “C” is for coffee! I’m sure my Car will be Cruising by the coffee kiosk tomorrow. Let me know what u Crave. 

  3. Emily says:

    And here I thought I was going to go the whole day without some brew. Oh, well, off to the kitchen I go!

  4. Charmaine says:

    Cute I have always enjoyed your writing and it goes great with a cup of coffee!

Leave a Reply

