B.F.F.

When you’re down and troubled / and you need a helping hand,
And nothing, no nothing is going right,
Close your eyes and think of me / and soon I will be there
To brighten up even your darkest nights…

= – = – =

Do you have friends or family like that? I can thankfully report such souls on speed-dial.  I have go-to’s.  I feel very blessed.  (Especially since sometimes I can be annoying.)

Statistics show that in America, friendship is on the decrease; people are reverting back to the old days—when in need, they’re looking to family.  Those numbers didn’t surprise me.  My mother’s predictions from 40 years ago are playing out like a script:  “We all have friends, but it’s important to keep family; when it’s all said and done, that’s all you have.” 

I’ve always had a nagging doubt over jargon like “Best Friends Forever”—something about it never felt right; I know my own shortcomings, and it always seemed too good to be true.

And it was.

Sometimes people stay at the “buddy” level.  Maybe they’ve been burned and like to play farther from the flame.  Maybe someday we’ll be BF’s.  [Now that could be interpreted a few ways!]

Ever had a Frenemy?  My mother has.  In spades.  A few of those and you start squeezing your sons and daughters like the last of the toothpaste.

When I was little, she had a friend we called Big Ed.  He had imaginary friends: invisible tiny people in the palm of his hand.  I wonder if Big Ed learned that, if you’re going to put all your eggs in one basket, make it your own flesh and blood. (Literally.)

I used to think pen pals were a safe bet; but with technology being so instant, these days that can be dangerous business.  And then, of course, we all have a number who are more than associates or acquaintances: “friends of the family.”  If you’re in their hometown, you can call them.  But it might be once every five years.

At my age, I’ve learned that you win a few, and lose a few.  Comrades and confidants morph into Christmas cards.  Then one day, you scratch your head: “What exactly happened there?”

Well, it just goes to show you, one more time:

Mom was right.

= – = – =

My BFF:  JESUS: My Advocate, Comforter, Friend, Guide, Helper, Mediator, Purifier, Refuge, Teacher, Life.

This entry was posted in Relationships and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to B.F.F.

  1. BillyTheShark says:

    So true. I always felt the same way; can’t call someone BFF, for no one knows how thing will change over the years.

Leave a Reply

