Thorny Thursday

I know, I know—we all deserve a whole lot worse—but can I complain anyway?

Thursday wasn’t fun. 3 AM we got Mom to the airport (that says it all, haha).

But if you must go to the airport, take somebody in a wheelchair. Woah, talk about the royal treatment! ‘Good thing, ‘cause I’m a greenhorn at this terrorist stuff.  (My purse is now a half-pound lighter. Bye-bye, Leatherman.) Brother, it got my eyes watering, the TSA officers pilfering through our bags (yeah, Mom had clippers).  But no big tears: ‘not the place for a high profile.

Mom and I had some good hang time while Hubby waited outside the juggernaut. Then, after a light breakfast, I dropped him at work and headed home.

That’s when I started crying.  Again.  Thanks a lot, Nillson:

= – = – =

No, I can’t forget this evening, Or your face as you were leaving….

I can’t live! If living is without you…

= – = – =

I miss my friend.  But at 55 MPH, I again choked back the tears.

So I got home and busy; before long I was crying over a misplaced check.

This was getting ridiculous.

My daughter recommended I do something else until I calmed down.  Handling the laundry…  Niagara Falls!  I fled to the spare room and had it out: the cry I’d needed for a month.

Things got a little better after that. A friend treated me to a Starbuck’s 2-fer.  We even got to see her daughter.  (She’s a thinker.)  That was fun.

But then I started feeling punky. Seriously, the worst 12-hour fever ever: chills, pain, delirium, groaning… and that was just the dog.  J.K.

So, that was my Thursday.  ‘See why I wanted to complain?

P.S. My “2-fer” friend didn’t stop at the peppermint mochas.  She reminded me of Philippians 4:4-8:

Rejoice in the Lord always. Again I will say, rejoice! Let your gentleness be known to all men. The Lord is at hand. Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus. Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate on these things.

 

This entry was posted in Mind Matters, Relationships and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thorny Thursday

  1. Just Me says:

    I’ve been a bit melancholy myself…:/ I will pray for you…and your mama….AND I will look to these Philippian verses too. They are medicine to my soul.

Leave a Reply

