Cultivating Faith

‘Bet you didn’t get much sleep last night.  In yesterday’s blog, your curiosity was piqued: Bible study application question? What was it?

‘Glad you asked.

Okay, here it is:  How are you cultivating your own faith and obedience toward God as you seek to follow His plan for your life?

That’s a doozey; I definitely had to sleep on it.

So today I dove in.  First off, I had to decide what “cultivating your own faith” meant.  Here’s what I came up with:

-.- God predestined I would be conformed to the image of His Son. (Rom. 8:29)

-.- God told me to grow (2 P 3:18) , so…

-.-God will help me!  (Php 1:6, Php 2:13, 1 Thess 5:23-24)

Cultivating my faith, then, is growing in the grace and knowledge of the Lord (faith comes by hearing).  And I know that God’s already decided I will be changed, instructed me to change, and will help me change.

Okay.  So, I took extra time to understand the question.  But I won’t get extra credit if I haven’t even answered it!

So, here goes: How am I cultivating my faith and obedience toward God?  Well, if I’ve learned anything in my 29 years in Christ, I do have faith (by grace! Hallelujah!)—but my faith doesn’t grow unless the garden is tended.  Without its “necessary food”, the soil goes fallow.  Without “the water”, the leaves go dry.  Without the “power”, the heart’s problems are systemic.

Mind you, at this Bible class, nobody said anything about the teacher tallying our answers.  And it’s incongruent with Christianity to grade on a curve.  [ 🙂 ]  So, I’ll just answer the question the best I can, and probably discover later I missed the boat entirely.  Nonetheless, I gave it my best shot.  (Abridged version follows.)

That’s the end of today’s One-Minute Blog.  The rest is bonus material.  😉

Bible  [Listed 6 disciplines I practice]

Col 3:16  Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly…

Heb 5:14    But solid food belongs to those who are of full age…

1 Cor 7:19  keeping the commandments of God…

1 Peter 2:2  …desire the pure milk of the word, that you may grow thereby

Joshua 1:8  …you shall meditate in it day and night…

Prayer  [3 disciplines]

Matt 7:7 & 11   “Ask, and it will be given to you…

Jude 1:20  …praying in the Holy Spirit, keep yourselves in the love of God…

Worship  [4 disciplines]

Psalm 18:1-3   I will love You, O LORD, my strength…

Psalm 89:1-2  I will sing of the mercies of the LORD forever…

Psalm 113:1-6  Praise the LORD! …

Fellowship  [5 disciplines]

Heb. 10:24-25   … not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together…

Col 3:16  … teaching and admonishing one another in psalms …

1 Peter 4:8-10  …Be hospitable to one another…

Acts 2:42  …doctrine and fellowship, in the breaking of bread, and in prayers.

Php 2:1-2   …having the same love, being of one accord, of one mind.

Psalm 55:14  We took sweet counsel together, And walked to the house of God in the throng.

Eph 4:32  tenderhearted, forgiving one another, even as God in Christ forgave you.

Rom 12:10  …with brotherly love, in honor giving preference to one another

1 Peter 1:22  …love one another fervently with a pure heart

Walking Worthy  [4 disciplines]

Col 1:9-12  … that you may walk worthy of the Lord, fully pleasing Him, being fruitful in every good work…

Rom 6:2  How shall we who died to sin live any longer in it?

Gal 5:22 the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, kindness, goodness, faithfulness

Titus 2:12  denying ungodliness and worldly lusts, we should live soberly, righteously, and godly in the present age

2 Peter 1:5-6  …add to your faith virtue… knowledge… self-control… perseverance… godliness… brotherly kindness… love.

Php 1:9-11  … that you may be sincere and without offense till the day of Christ, being filled with the fruits of righteousness which are by Jesus Christ, to the glory and praise of God.

Witnessing  [4 groups]

Matt. 28:19-20 Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations…

Isaiah 55:11  So shall My word be that goes forth from My mouth; It shall not return to Me void…

Rom 1:16  For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ…

John 12:32  And I, if I am lifted up from the earth, will draw all peoples to Myself.”

Ministry  [Listed]

Rom 12:10-13   … not lagging in diligence, fervent in spirit, serving the Lord…distributing to the needs of the saints, given to hospitality.

Gen. 19:1-3    …He also invited them to wash their feet.  He made them a feast, and baked bread.

James 1:27   …visit orphans and widows in their trouble…

This entry was posted in AAA Laura's Favorites :), Christianity and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

