Frodo!

How classic does literature have to be, before you can bypass the Spoiler Alert?  I guess 60 years isn’t long enough.  No worries: I won’t give away the ending.   ………Even though I’ve seen it half-a-dozen times.  In 2001, 2, and 3, the movies came out.  This week, I finally got around to watching them.  [??] Don’t be confused: I hadn’t seen the trilogy (I always dosed off during the first or second Orc attack).  But always, at the end of No. 3, a mysterious force drew me into the family room.

Now that I’ve seen the whole thing, after a decade of feeling like an outsider, I understand what the hubbub was all about.  They weren’t kidding when they said “Lord of the Rings” is “the biggest project to hit the movies.”  Wow, I would definitely watch them again someday.  Maybe next time, though, we’ll let more than three days lapse between installments.

My daughters were right: I did appreciate the inescapable symbolism of the strong forces of evil, a good fellowship, prophet/priest/king, loving the unlovable, supernatural providence, and a suffering servant.

And it did get me charged up for the 2012 release of “The Hobbit.”  I read that book in high school; a group of us were all about it.  Someone in that circle got hold of a Runic alphabet of sorts, and we memorized it so we could pass notes.  I’m 53 years old, and still write in that alphabet nearly every day.  Weird. I know.  What’s really fun is, it’s not exactly the same as in the encyclopedias; my kids tried for years to decipher it, to no avail.  YESS!!

So, yeah, I really liked the Fellowship, the Towers, and the Return.  Awesome.  And, not to take us away from this epic conversation, but I’ve just gotta say it:  Elijah Wood?  Jeepers, creepers, where’d you get those EYES?!!

This entry was posted in Hobbies and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Frodo!

  1. anonymous says:

    I’ve seen your writing in that Runic alphabet and assumed you must certainly have seen the movies. Only a LOTR junkie would be that into it to learn the language, right? Guess not. 🙂 Glad you enjoyed the experience.

Leave a Reply

