Keep Your Nose Clean

It’s ridiculous, the number of things we’re supposed to remember every day: make bed, start coffee, floss teeth, sort wash, feed cat.  And don’t forget to recycle.

Busy-ness might not be the Curse, but sometimes I think it’s a byproduct.  Sin brought death; I guess that includes exhaustion, bacteria, and plaque.  It’s a vicious circle of life.  If we’re not careful, we can get caught up in a winsome whirlwind of time-consuming, temporal tasks.

My countertop sports a Daily File and an Hourly File.  Most of the time, I can balance home, job, and ministry.  But you know what they say about all work and no play.  (It makes you a manager.)

In my case, I’m glad to report:  About ten years ago… an epiphany!  It’s called DISNEYLAND.  You see, I grew up very flaky.  And when God saved me, I learned how to keep my nose clean.  But I took it too far:  I turned myself into a walking, talking, working machine.

Then the epiphany!  The Happiest Place on Earth taught me something:  how to play.  Ever since then, I carve out fun-time.  No, I don’t get deluxe vacations—but yes, my life is properly spiced with drives, outings, crafts, dancing, and coffees.  And who knew? I still get my work done.  God is good.

The “interwebs” (as my kids call it) is loaded with high-tech toys designed to organize your to-do list; you can Tweet and Toodle-do Till you’re Tangled.  But is that what we want?  Days filled with spending instead of friending? Dishes instead of wishes?  Chores instead of doors?  Bills instead of thrills?  ‘Doesn’t sound like much fun to me.

True, I’m far from balanced.  For starters, I’m stubborn at not prioritizing my personal health.  But that’s not a time management issue (‘more like a spiritual one).

At any rate, this is just a little heads-up to all the workaholics out there.  If you’re in a rut, do something to upset the applecart.  And if the bowling alley doesn’t cut it, kick it up a notch.  I’m tellin’ ya…  you need to go to Disneyland.

This entry was posted in Mind Matters, Outings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Keep Your Nose Clean

  1. Tamz says:

    Since I read this at my office at 7:40, just before heading out to have a buyer sign some paperwork, I’m thinking maybe I need to go to Disneyland. Wanna come with?

Leave a Reply

