Special Harvest calls for Special Sowing

I’m a wimp.  I’d probably lose a wrestling match with my cat.  (Well, she’s a wimp too; it’d be a draw.)  But I really am pathetic; I avoid things I rightly should take on:  defense of the weak, confrontations with the strong, labor among the rugged, low-cal diets…

Well, at least those have heretofore been my modus operandi. Who knows what the future holds?  I am, after all, one who trusts in the one true God.  Php. 4:13   I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

When I’m facing a giant (in whatever form), I should remember David, the shepherd:  1 Sam. 17:47  the Lord does not save with sword and spear; for the battle is the Lord’s.

We need God’s power.  Spurgeon recommends extra prayer:  “There should be a special sowing, it seems to me, whenever we desire a special harvest.” 

What is my trial?  I must pray.

We’re studying God’s call of Moses to go to Pharaoh:  He didn’t take kindly to the idea:  “Who am I? … What should I say Your name is? … What if they don’t believe me? … I’m not a good speaker!”  Finally, though, Moses quit his job and headed out, staff in hand.

I bet he prayed.  A lot.

As our teacher expounded this lesson, he asked those of us listening a very tough question: “What is God telling you to do, that you are refusing to do? And what are the excuses you are giving?”

Ouch.

Exodus 4 is not about whether we’re up for the task; it’s about how God …is.  We must pray.

Spurgeon continues, “If you are about to pass through an extreme trial, and need great strength, to yield a greater harvest of patience, have a greater sowing of grace by drawing nearer to God.”

It’s a cinch to sit at this computer, plunking out platitudes about being “unwavering, undaunted, and unaffected” (March 14).  But facing the giants is where the rubber meets the road: maybe it’s time to stop skidding it, and start burning it.

I must pray.

Romans 8:31  If God is for us, who can be against us?

James 5:13   Is anyone among you suffering? Let him pray.


This entry was posted in Christianity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

