Who Loves You?


I’m the middle of three.  All females.  Way back, if we were being bad little girls, our mom would recite that kids’ song:  “Nobody likes me, everybody hates me, I think I’ll go eat worms!”  As a kid, I thought she made that up.  I’d think, “Why is she gonna eat worms?  That’s gross!”  But it had the desired effect.  She’s a matter-of-fact type (Hm. Maybe that’s where I get it. Ya Think?).  Anyway, it was out of character for her to be pathetic.  As Rex would say, “Now I have guilt!”

It’s odd that I’m writing about Mom two days in one week.  ‘Must be love.  Right now, she’s on a plane to Hawaii.  I’m not feelin’ the love. J.K.

A mother’s love is strong, but it’s not perfect.  My conduct has, too often, sent her “worm-hunting.” She’s not one to lament, really—but she’s shaken her head in dismay at my mouthy stage, my rebellious period, my self-righteous phase.

Through all of it, Mom loved me—in her own way.  My dear husband, too, has loved me through times when I’ve been a royal pain.  My beautiful daughters show me such tenderness, even though I’ve had snips and snatches of cluelessness and Victorianism.

Which brings us to….  If you know what DAY today is, you’re already guessing.  My absolute TOP favorite phrase in the English language:

BUT GOD.

But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us. Romans 5:8

A blessed Good Friday to you.  It’s a good day, because God is good.  He loved the world and is building a people.  In spite of us.  Even though we’ve made our mommies cry.  And want to go eat worms.  I have faith in the Savior, and trust in His death paying the penalty for all those worms.  God forgave me for it.  And because of what God’s doing with my sin (taking it away), today Mom’s gonna eat pineapple.

 

 

This entry was posted in Christianity, Relationships and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Who Loves You?

  1. themamaduck says:

    Amen! Well said, my sister! 🙂 and good Friday to you too!

Leave a Reply

