Enough, Already!

I’m turning over a new leaf.  And whenever I turn a page, there’s an involuntary reflex to smooth down that page—flushing the air out.  Yeah, about that:  please forgive the vulgarity, but yeah—the air really needs flushing.

FIELD OF TULIPS!

The Lord Jesus Christ is a Fountainhead of never-ending blessing, a flowing River of joy to those who are thankful for the Cross.  The water of the Word is a protective moat, separating us from the world’s heinous vileness.  This is my new leaf:  I am already separated physically.  By God’s mercy, may I also be separate in my mind and speech.

GREEN GRASS AND SUNSHINE!

Historically, I’m a Perpetually Positive Polyanna Person.  I rarely look at the headlines, and don’t watch scary movies.  Lately, though, my conversation (and my blog) have been highly seasoned with negative vibes.  So I am today (once again) turning that page.  “Taking, as He did, this sinful world as it is, not as I would have it”. [from the Serenity Prayer]

CRACKLING CAMPFIRE!

The catalyst for today’s fresh start was two-fold: one friend spoke to me yesterday about the desire for more joyful conversation.  Then, at the end of the day, I enjoyed the company of someone who has learned how to do it.  So today I’ve decided:  without ignoring the calling to carefully consider creepy conundrums, I think I can find a way to yet be a blessing of cheer, joy, and fun.  And I pray that it will be contagious.

SOFT PUPPIES!

Just like the lawyer who leaves his briefcase at work and goes home for family night, I hereby declare a selective moratorium on my mouth.

Ps. 19:14    Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart Be acceptable in Your sight, O LORD, my rock and my Redeemer.

Php. 4:8  …whatever is true… honorable… right… pure… lovely… good repute… excellence… worthy of praise, dwell on these things

YEAH, SPRING!

This entry was posted in Christianity, Keeping up Appearances, Relationships and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

