Let Me Be Frank

Every so often I get a sharp pain.  …When I remember the tragic loss (or theft?) of my CD case.  BUMMER.

But the pain doesn’t last long: most of it was dubbed to MP3.  SWEET!

But the pain returned when we recently acquired a 2003 car that only does CD’s.  DRAG.

But I found buried treasure: a drawer full of CD’s.  SCORE!

But it’s David’s music.  GAG.

But then.  Sheer ecstasy.  Buried among the Mancini and Jazz was a jewel worth ten of anything else: SINATRA.

So I’ve been lovin’ it these last couple of days:  cruisin’ with Ol’ Blue Eyes.  Frank never read music, but boy:  gifted–he nailed the notes.  Even live on stage, note, after note, after note, The Chairman of the Board gave new meaning to the word HIT.

Plus, hands down he had an ear (or eye?) for songwriters.  I’m a tough cookie (not the mushy type), but whenever I hear this, I’m butter; you could “Fly Me to the Moon.”

  Some day, when I’m awfully low,
When the world is cold,
I will feel a glow just thinking of you—
And the way you look tonight.

Sometime soon, play the album, Reprise: The Very Good Years.  It’s an amazing 66 minutes.  (Except for a couple misfires [I CANNOT STAND the song, “Send in the Clowns”!!!])  Most of the songs are very cleverly written, not the least of which are Cole Porter’s “I’ve Got You Under My Skin”, “Night and Day”, and “I Get a Kick Out of You”.  Plus there’s “Luck Be a Lady Tonight” (written by the same guy who gave us “Baby, It’s Cold Outside” and “What Are You Doing New Year’s Eve?”).

Let me be Frank.  Whether it’s Chicago or New York, with a voice like that, I can overlook his “Love and Marriage” with “Strangers in the Night”.  I don’t care if his political views changed like the “Summer Wind”.  And if he really did have gangster ties, I guess I can’t have everything “My Way”.   “That’s Life”.

I just really hope, somehow, it’s true what they wrote on his epitaph:  “The Best is Yet to Come.”

This entry was posted in Hobbies and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

