Finite Minds

For awhile yesterday, I forgot more than I remembered.  My “fearfully and wonderfully made” body ping-ponged between two modes: Manic, and Panic.  The first, is a malfunction of the heart; the latter, the gut.  My theory is when in that mode, oxygen is directed to those regions, so the brain gets the short end of the stick.  End result? A chicken with its head cut off.

Maybe you have days like that.  Usually our ducks stay in their cute little row.  Then that Canadian Goose lands, flapping its wings; the ripple effect tosses the poor ducklings about!  But this is an allegory: it’s all in your head.  Call it a lack of concentration, A.D.D., or Teflon brain, let’s face it: we have finite minds.

This week I was reminded that God recognizes this about us—but He’s got it covered.

= – =

We’re corrupted; God is perfect.

We’re limited; God is infinite.

We’re weak; God is strong.

We’re emotional; God never changes.

= – =

So when it comes to deciding which way to turn, or how to pray, here’s the deal: If we belong to Him, He lives in us.  And (in case your mini gray matter forgot), He knows everything!  There!  I knew it!  Christians know everything!  LOL ~ NOTT ~ J.K.  But, as our pastor succinctly put it, “God knows the mind of God, because God prays according to God’s will for God’s children.”

I know.  It’s lofty.  At least for this finite mind.

= – =

The Bible taught

We don’t pray as we ought.

He’s right; I’m a dope.

But there’s still hope!

= – =

~~God the Father predestined me His.

~~And the Lord Jesus died for my sins.

~~I’m heaven-secured: His Spirit lives!

~~He’s in me now—and prays and forgives.

= – =

So I don’t reject

The ripple effect

If my ducks are askew,

God already knew!

= – =

Romans 8:26           the Spirit also helps our weakness; for we do not know how to pray as we should, but the Spirit Himself intercedes for us
Luke 11:22b-23a    that they may be one, just as We are one; I in them and You in Me, that they may be perfected in unity
1 John 3:20             in whatever our heart condemns us; for God is greater than our heart and knows all things.
Matthew 11:28       Come to Me, all who are weary and heavy-laden, and I will give you rest.

 

This entry was posted in Christianity, Mind Matters and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

