The Right Stuff

So maye much be spyed also, by the company and pastyme that a body vseth. For a man is for the moost parte condicioned euen lyke vnto them that he kepeth company wythe all.  [I’ll wait momentarily for some of you to do the Tarzan yell at getting that one on the first try.]

That was the year 1541.  Today’s translation:  A man is known by the company he keeps.  Ahh. There we go.

Charles Spurgeon takes this a step further:  “I think you may judge of a man’s character by the persons whose affection he seeks.”   Yes. I get that.  Just because I’m surrounded by stellar souls (which I am, by the way), that doesn’t say much about me; it’s (without doubt) the grace of God.  What’s very telling, however, is who I seek out.  I could be straining gnats here (sure, sure, people stay for more than my Legendary Brownies), but you get my point:  If I clamor for the company of conquerors, I’m cocky and conceited.  But a darling who dares address the dire and destitute, is definitively deeper.

Spurgeon directs our attention to God, who gathers the outcasts:  “Be glad to-night, dear friends, that we gather around such a Savior as this, from whom all pride and self-seeking are absent, and who coming down among us in gentleness and meekness, comes to gather those whom no man cares for — those who are judged to be worthless and irreclaimable.”

It’s good to continue to nurture our relationships, “especially to those who are of the household of faith.”  Indeed.  But let us not forget—we, too, were “irreclaimable.”  But we’ve been redeemed.  So, shall we show what we’re made of?

The Holy Spirit: The Right Stuff.

Have lunch with the abandoned.  Minister to the sick.  Encourage the down-trodden.  Take the Gospel to the sinner.  …Maybe even take some Legendary Brownies to the enemy.

How about this weekend?

P.S.  You’d better just hope I don’t show up at your door with brownies.

This entry was posted in AAA Laura's Favorites :), Christianity, Relationships and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Right Stuff

  1. Tamz says:

    I wouldn’t mind if you showed up at my door with brownies . . . really! ‘o)

Leave a Reply

