Things I Learned on My Way to Church

Today David left early for ministry, and Lily was running a tad late.  So I seal my coffee, warm the car, scrape windshield, re-park, and text that I’m not the weakest link.  Still: no sign of life.  “I guess I’ll get some fresh air.”

CLUNK.

Pull forward.  Turn off ignition.  Heft decorative boulder farther from the curb.  (>_<)  Pull weeds.  Delete LOL-Smiley reply-text.

Wow.  I’ve already learned  patience, efficiency, safety, expediency, consideration, humor, health, and hospitality—and I haven’t even left the house.  (Yeah, we home-school moms are queens of the daily object lesson.)

As we hit the road, more lessons await.  I drive this enough that I should know.  (Ya think?)  I cut to the left lane, as the left lane ends.  Duh! It’s other the left lane.   I do that every. single. time.  South a few miles: “Doh!” The left-turn refuge is way before I expect it.  Do I remember that?  No…  What’s the lesson here?  That’s a no-brainer.  I have no brain.  (hehe.)  But actually… to keep me from exalting myself, there was given me a thorn in the flesh… “My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness.”  [2 Cor. 12:7-9]

We noticed an old man walking with a cane.  What’s the big deal?  Hey! He’s walking!  So much wisdom.  It reminds me of a poster I saw:  “Dear Diet, things just aren’t going to work between us.  It’s not me.  It’s you.  You’re tasteless, boring, and I can’t stop cheating on you.”

The man walked really slowly.  “He must be in pain.”  My daughter observed, “He’s walking uphill; everything’s more difficult when you’re going uphill.”

Man, a lesson around every bend!

Finally, when we were almost there, ahead of us a lousy driver ignored the red light.  Thankfully, the defensive driver swerved.  I laughed, “Haha, they probably go to our church.”

We both giggled as we pulled into the parking lot.  I joked that I should blog it.  Lily said, “Yeah!  ‘Things I learned on my way to church’.”

Sure enough, the pastor quoted just the verse:   Luke 19:10  For the Son of Man has come to seek and to save that which was lost.”

No, those drivers hadn’t turned.  Maybe we should put up a little sign: “Bad Drivers Welcome.”

This entry was posted in Christianity and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

