Rest for My Soul

If your life is like mine, there is no shortage of people trying to tell you what to do.  From the talk show, to the coffee shop, to the bank—and all stops in-between, everybody’s got an agenda.  It’s amazing how each of them thinks we should jump on their bandwagon.

But I’m not biting.  Frankly, I’m too busy to be working for all these people.  I have full time job!  Just like Elwood Blues, I’m on a mission from God.  It keeps me busy constantly.  Mostly because of all the shoe-shaking I must do these days: Whoever does not receive you, nor heed your words, as you go out of that house or that city, shake the dust off your feet.

But this job isn’t like pedaling that obsolete medical instrument Will Smith was toting and touting in “The Pursuit of Happyness.”  When people tell me, “Thanks, but no thanks,” it’s hard to take—because…  I’m on a mission from God:  Truly I say to you, it will be more tolerable for the land of Sodom and Gomorrah in the day of judgment than for that city.

It still amazes me that I got the job: I had absolutely no credentials: He has hidden these things from the wise and intelligent and have revealed them to infants.

But I’m glad I work here.  Though I’m a dull and slow learner,  I have the most careful, understanding, encouraging, and very helpful Supervisor: “learn from Me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.”

How could I turn down such a position? Besides: I first heard about this job from the absolute Best of references: behold, a voice out of the cloud said, “ This is My beloved Son, with whom I am well-pleased; listen to Him!”

This entry was posted in AAA Laura's Favorites :), Christianity. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rest for My Soul

  1. Jamasina says:

    “If your life is like mine, there is no shortage of people trying to tell you what to do.”

    I know this has really nothing to do with the point of your post, but when I read that, my first thoughts were: “Being pregnant, and then carrying a baby around, seems to invite that from complete strangers all the time!”

  2. elsiephoebe says:

    HAHAHA!!
    Moms. Ya gotta love ’em.
    Errr… us. 😉

  3. Jan Danielson says:

    So beautiful, Laura…

  4. elsiephoebe says:

    Beautiful, Isn’t He?

Leave a Reply

