Autocomplete

 

This weekend, after a summer of hiccups, my computer finally got a tune-up.  Our tech-savvy buddy and my helpful hubby faced the giant.  Meanwhile, we wives commiserated in the corner.

At one intriguing juncture, we ladies were talking about the danger of making assumptions.  At just that moment, the guys were discussing Autocomplete (aka Autocorrect).  You know, if you type “Disney,” you might send “Divorce.”

How apropos was this conversation collision!  It’s not merely web browsers and texters that deal with Autocomplete gumming up the works.  I thought about this through the weekend—how damaging assumptions are.  [It’s 2012: I hereby declare a moratorium on that stupid quote from “Bad News Bears.”]  Anyway, our brains were created with the Autocomplete feature.  But that doesn’t mean we should run with it.

I wasn’t the only one to catch this. Today my computer friend and I concluded the process by phone; he graciously asked me to take my brain out of Autocomplete mode.  (I was turning his step-by-step into a game of hopscotch.)  He mentioned the need to “slow our minds down.”

How true is that?  Assumptions are usually people being too lazy to get the facts, check sources, get more facts, and check those sources.

There must be something in the air: after my computer session, I got a phone call.  It was perfect (sovereign) timing:  this friend shared about a class she went to regarding the Military Problem Solving Process known as F.A.P.S.:  Facts, Assumptions, Problems, Solutions.  (Notice what follows Assumptions?)

Think about a few scenarios in your life.  Are you relying on Autocomplete?  There’s nothing intrinsically wrong with it; it’s how we’re wired.  But it’s a feature that’s best used in the moment.  Slow your mind down.  Take a moment and proof your text before hitting send.

This entry was posted in Christianity, Mind Matters, Relationships and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

